Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Aaaaah! Crows!

by Todnut - Compo Entry

Don't let the crows eat your plants!

Controls:
Mouse: aim
Left-Mouse button to shoot
Right-Mouse button used by upgrades

The game is written in C++ with emscripten for the web build.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#104Fun3.74
#246Humor2.89
#312Graphics3.42
#313Overall3.45
#418Theme3.81
#577Audio2.41
#589Mood2.81
#723Innovation2.71

Comments

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

Yay for shooting crows! Die crows! Loved that part. Wish the targeting reticule was brighter and didn't blend as much into the trees.

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:08am

Haha, I love the crow sprite. Fun game!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10am

this was an enjoyable game.

IanGraven says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:15am

I loved playing this game.

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:16am

The 3D panning is witchcraft! Nicely done. I think I bought the nuke without having the money for it, but you won't here me complaining.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:32am

Really fun game the upgrade shop feels like a VR game ☺

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Liked it, felt like I had everything under control and then I suffered a massive murder of crows and lost in a minute. Good time.

knason says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Fun game! Nice looking crows, I died though, have to try it more later, feel the need for that nuke! :-) good job!

tanjent says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Good entry and very slick 3D feeling. I found out that I suck at it though, had a hard time completing level 2. A little minimap/radar thingie would have helped so you know how many birds are incoming :) Also I felt a bit uneasy with the super sensitive panning, but that might just be me and lacking skills with FPS in general. And another + for doing it in C++ and publishing on the web 8)

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28pm

That was fun! Only criticism that comes to mind is the crosshair should have a little more contrast. It's easy to lose sight of it when you pan through the trees.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38am

that was great - loved it when the crows started wearing helmets - brilliant!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Really fun game! The upgrade system is very well done, and the controls are extremely responsive.
It is a shame that the crosshair is black, so I had no clue where I was aiming.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:22pm

It's a nice game. The upgrades and the different crow types really save it from getting repetitive.

flyingbear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:53am

That was fun! My favorite moments were when I was heavily focused in one direction and then I turn to the other direction to see like a hundred crows!! Upgrades all felt meaningful, and it was extremely satisfying to nuke them crows!

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Found this game on the LD mosaic and it's pretty cool. Game feel's nice, drawings are lovely. Could use some more variety. And music! :D
Good job!

mikedirl says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Fun game, very enjoyable from the start, the graphics are very pleasing to look at.

xhunterko says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Not bad. I liked the call back to Duck Hunt! Would've been nice with sound though, ah well. Still, nice!

vortex says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:05am

Very nice game! Looking around feels really nice.
Got to level 5 easily, but then just got eaten...

Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Fun entry and liked that the crows came from different angles. The turning was also nice and smooth. Just wish I had a map to guide me of where they were all building up from.

Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Hi, I loved this game!
I reached level 9 before I got overwhelmed. I didn't use my shotgun enough but I'm sure I could have gotten even further. I will be uploading a YouTube video, if you don't mind!

dollarone says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Great game! Controls nicely, and I like the 3d view. Got pretty hard, even with the nuke. Good stuff

RovingSquid says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Perfect name for the game. I shouted "Aaaaaaah Crows" several times while playing! Fun too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]