Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Spirit Hearts

by Yword - Jam Entry

Play as Night, a spirit in the Spirit World, on his adventure to find the Spirit Hearts.

Controls:
- Arrows/WASD: Movement
- Mouse button LEFT: Shoot
- Mouse button RIGHT: Drag object

Credits:
- Music: Akaishiro by Final-Round
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/409075

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#23Fun(Jam)4.09
#33Overall(Jam)4.09
#55Mood(Jam)4.07
#55Graphics(Jam)4.48
#213Innovation(Jam)3.56
#1068Theme(Jam)2.32

Comments

yuotta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:53am

This game is pretty cool! I like the mechanics of it. I wish it had more enemies at the beginning though. Can't believe you programmed all of this in 72 hours! Very nice!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:55am

Great graphics but two button controller theme doesnt fit

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59am

Very polished game, I like the super juicy particles. Controls are neat, the level is interesting and challenging enough. Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05am

The level is really entertaining and I liked the how to play signs in game. Quick note: I thought the game crashed in the menu because it had no music nor sound effects, maybe you should work on that !! The rest is really flawless. Amazing job!

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10am

Very good

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10am

This is really impressive! I like the way you developed the mechanics, I thought the way they were used was clever. I think I get what you were going for with regards to the theme, but I'm not sure how well it fits. Either way you did a great job -- the visuals are quite pleasing, and the music fit well.

I would certainly play more of this!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:44am

This is amazing! Very cool game! The mood is great, the controls are responsive, effects are super nice, and I truly love the graphics and the color theme... Super great! The only thing... I can't really see where the theme fits. Apart from that, this is a killer game.

khofez says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:52pm

A very nice game! The graphics are beautiful, and the mechanics are hard to master.

Vidinu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Amazing game! I need moar!

Farelle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08pm

the graphics are insane for this short amount of time, specially all the particle effects/sounds and music!
Theme wise, I don't really see growing, neither 2 button controls.
It's alot of fun to just fly around and destroy things :D aswell as trying to figure out these puzzles :D

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Very cool game. It was really fun to play.

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Damn, the graphics are so pretty and juicy! And gameplay is really fun and interesting.

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Game looks amazing! Sounds and screenshake makes the game very enjoyable, great work!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:45pm

72 hours? Realy? Youre awesome! Wait for continue!!!!

StrehFox says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Really solid game. Great display of the primary game mechanic throughout the demo. Had to doc some points for the loose interpretation of the theme (this is 6 buttons). That said, I could totally see this being expanded and sold commercially. Great job!

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:48pm

The Box2D physics along with the shump-like mechanics were a lot of fun. I liked using a dragged box as a shield in certain cases. Particle effects were great too! You've got a good eye for shading, so I'd earnestly recommend making the graphics have more smooth, non-pixelly art if you were to continue with this. Very good!

I found holding a box to block the "laser wall beam" from killing me a bit difficult, since the screen scrolled and thus moved my mouse's target. Maybe if those walls only took off 1HP, it would be a little more forgiving.

Otherwise, it was lots of fun! Cheers!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Nice game! Level design seems quite good, congratulations! Keep working on those graphics and make a larger game, please. Good job!

Leuthil says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Great game. Right away you can feel all of the polish that went into this. It feels really good and satisfying to play, well done.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Nice game ! especially the graphics. I can't see where the themes are respected but still a good entry :)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:35am

VERY GOOD GAME.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:15am

This is a really well polished game, the visual style is gorgeous, and the sound design is beautiful. The level design does a great job of teaching players mechanics and then combining them in interesting and unique ways. The main gameplay issue with this entry lies in the camera. It's really difficult to react to enemies coming from offscreen due to the way the camera drags behind the player. I see what the idea was, to ensure smooth camera movement, but when the player takes up so much of the screen, and they're so far towards the edge, it can be an issue. As well as this, it does make the situations with blocking the lasers with the box more difficult in an unnecessary way. I don't see how either of the themes was used at all. A great game for 72 hours work, but not an amazing jam entry because of that.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:23am

This game is gorgeous!!

tobia88 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:23am

Great graphics! Very fun!

orion_black says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:42pm

At first dragging blocks around was kind of a turn off. I was like: Is this going to be another one of those? but then I realized you can use them as a shield. If you were to take that idea and give more versatility to that mechanic I think something quite interesting could come out of this.

BTW, you can potentially get trapped on the bombs room. If you drop the gray box while attacking the red enemy you can't get it back. It isn't that much of an issue but in bigger/more convoluted levels it certainly would be.

Good sprite work and music selection.

dkilford says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:56am

I really liked this game! I wish I could make particle effects that good in unity. The pacing and tutorialization were particularly well done too.

kezhaar says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Wow, best one I've played so far ! Great graphics (dem particles !), great gameplay, and a complete level, well done !

PeteDS says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Awesome game, really fluid and works perfectly!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:35am

This was an excellent example of how to teach the player without holding his/her hand. You slowly introduced the mechanics in a very intuitive way; this is a great example of how to build a tutorial/first level-- I felt like I knew what to do in every scenario just from a glance around the room.

Top notch.

lurils says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:28pm

really good, can easily become a fun complete game with more time.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Liked the mechanics of this game as well as the great pixel art. The particle effects were fantastic too, long with the simple yet challenging gameplay. Good stuff!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]