Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Awkward Missile Command

by herniewise - Jam Entry

NOTES:
You use the hand of god for playing, so you'll need a mouse.
Fullscreen or Web Recommended.

[AWKWARD MISSILE COMMAND]
Defend yourself from infinite bombs falling from the sky using remote-controlled rockets! Well, your remote control has only two buttons...

[ENTRY INFO]
Worked: Solo
Engine: Construct 2
Art: Graphics Gale
Music: FL Studio + Peach VST plugin
Sounds: Bfxr

The game uses a local highscore system. If you want to clean it, press shift+r on the title screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#35Theme(Jam)4.33
#114Humor(Jam)3.65
#132Overall(Jam)3.79
#139Audio(Jam)3.76
#153Graphics(Jam)4.13
#167Innovation(Jam)3.65
#239Fun(Jam)3.52
#267Mood(Jam)3.53

Comments

Beavl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:52am

Really solid entry. Love the idea of hovering the two buttons to “awkwardly” control missiles :) Good job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:45am

This was quite nice, loved the slow motion mechanic. Great job!

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:23am

cool idea of "pushing" buttons with the mouse!. great graphics, animations and audio, good entry!.

intchanter says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:40am

Hilarious! Loved it!

Xgor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:42am

Really clever game idea. with a nice about of polish to it all. I wish that the missile was somewhat affected by gravity right now because it doesn't and that feels weird.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:43am

Nice done ! I Love that controls. Graphics are good too!

cescababs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Great game great concept I found the controls a little awkward

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:16pm

This game is appropriately named, for sure. It was so fun, and so awkward using only my two buttons to save the land from a firey bomb death. Love the music, and it fit the theme well. Awesome job.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:06pm

I genuinely enjoyed this one! Its an interesting take on the two button controls. The animation and sound are really nice and compliment the game well! Solid entry! Good job!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:37pm

It is definitely awkward. Having keyboard controls will change this game completely. Nicely done!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:50am

Ha Ha Ha.
That is all I can say.


Well, OK, I say that too : good job ! :D

Aumni says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:26am

Solid game!
Controls are really hard to master, but I like the idea, really fit the theme.
Good graphics and music.

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:53am

Really nice and solid design. It reminds me of asteroid controls. A very good job. :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:55am

nice, awkward indeed, clever concept, nice audio and graphics, well done

crucknuk says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:59am

Wow this game is very polish! Arts are very good and the idea is very well executed! Well done!

elizeu says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:22am

very cool!

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:36am

Very polished game, music fits perfectly, challenge is awkward enough. Good use of two button theme.Fan of nice clean pixel art. Overall loved it.

The mechanic of slowing down time and music when the bomb crossed the line, beautifully done.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:44am

excellent entry, very addicting, i really enjoy this game, congrats man! good job =D

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:48am

Wow, I made it to 19 before things got crazy. Really tight entry, nice polish.

trozen says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:12am

Neat game idea with hilariously frustrating controls. I like the take on the theme and all the simple, yet effective polish details.

Ludic says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:15am

i agree, its awkward, but is funy. the bomb is a good design choice. only issue is tha the buttons have a small area to activate the missile using the mouse

Tuism says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:28am

The idea is there, and I get that using the mouse adds difficulty, but I'm not a fan of games that make controls difficult for the sake of padding the challenge. The challenge, to me, should be about mastering the controls to overcome the game, not to make sure it's hard to control for the game to be a challenge.

The presentation is top notch. You even managed a tutorial which is rare in jam games. Kudos for that.

colinator27 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:35pm

The game is awesome; even the strange physics were fun to play with!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:48am

Really cool :) I loved the gameplay mechanic and the game itself was very polished.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Great game. The graphics perfectly fit the theme of the entry. The awkward controls made more awkward by using the mouse to hover over was hilarious and put a comical spin on the two button game theme. The best part is the slowdown letting you know you're about to die!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:28pm

With the tutorial I seemed complex, but then I found the gameplay fun and addictive. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]