Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Impulse

by Nega Drive - Jam Entry

A simple endless runner style game where you must avoid obstacles by moving your gradually accelerating ship left and right. The course will be randomly built out of different map sections as you progress.

An entry mainly for the 'Two Button Controls' theme. I guess your ship's velocity is 'Growing' too, if you need at least a flimsy pretense for it to fall under both themes!

Game was made with Unity, Photoshop, Flash, FL Studio, Audacity and Tiled. Sounds taken from Imphrenzia and Freesound.org. Original soundtrack by me (Rich)!

NOTE: Apparently there's a bug where the text goes way too big in 4:3 at fullscreen! We'll be looking at it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#290Audio(Jam)3.42
#427Graphics(Jam)3.62
#464Fun(Jam)3.21
#487Overall(Jam)3.35
#552Theme(Jam)3.63
#627Mood(Jam)3.08
#937Innovation(Jam)2.39

Comments

pontooncity says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:02am

Bring me back! Fun!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35am

Not bad at all, I like the graphical look very much.

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38am

Looks good, feels good, sounds good...yep, this is a good game!

ciobeni says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Loved the style of this game.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Im just horrible at this game :<
I liked the game concept, nice polish would be that the ship would rotate a pit when turning (so trying to pass corners would be smoother).
Good thing the maps were randomized so I could at least see some parts of the game :)

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Funny game. Procedural generation it's a cool feature.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54pm

The game is very polish, I like the graphics! Nice work!

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Loved the aesthetics and random generation, but game genre is a bit difficult for me =)

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:56am

Nice work! I found the game a little hard, but I kept trying. I also liked the random level layouts.

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:47am

Got 9.22km... sort of proud, haha. Pretty hard game due to the sluggish feeling of the ship and the reaaaally tight gaps.

Overall it's pretty damn fun! I like endless runners and some of the patterns here were really challenging to get past on the fly, but they felt mostly fair.

utgarda says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Nice graphics and even better level patterns, surroundings variety means a lot. And there's an almost smooth music ending on game over. I played multiple times just to see what's coming next.

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Usually runner games are plain and simple, but this one have many ineresting features that adds to the gameplay. I like how animation, controls and inertia gives the feel of weight, this really make the game to stand out

TiByte says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:09pm

WebGL version works on Ubuntu 14.04

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Pretty cool game! i wasn't very good at it, but it was still really fun.

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Very hardcore for me! Please at least share the music separately, it seems to be good :D

Null DIES says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:08pm

I think it would be more fun if the movement was faster yet still easy to avoid obstacles (make things further apart).
Other than that I enjoyed it, the art-style reminds me of some old games :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Really smooth graphics!
Great entry!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Very C64-style graphics for the background, nice. Good with the music getting you going and the semi-random placement of obstacle areas. Wish I didn't have to go through the 10-second intro area every time, for a past based game I'd like to restart immediately. Very nice effort.

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Nice little game, the music is a bit annoying if you ask me, but good job neverthless :)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:42pm

This looked good and felt good to play-- it also had a very cute aesthetic. However, I was unsure what the win condition was (if there was one at all). I didn't know whether I wanted to be big or small or what color I wanted to be-- i just knew I did not want to be black, haha.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:31am

Great music, great graphics, really nice level design. Very polished take on the endless runner genre.

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Nice graphics and fitting music track. Ship controls feel very smooth.

LeReveur says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Polished design, challenging avoiding game, good job !

Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Great art and music. Controls felt good, but I think the level design could use a little tuning. Felt frustrating at times.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:08pm

Pretty cool Concept! Mix of Flappy Bird and CubeField!

jackrugile says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Very fun game! I love endless runners like this and I think you nailed it with visual and audio style.

My best was 7.24km in 0:56.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]