Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

AFTER GEAR

by gene-z - Jam Entry

Flee or destroy all the Droids enemies who want to assimilate it and make your robot, in most of them ...

The game takes place in a post apocalyptic future , with art dedicated to steampunk universe.

Use the arrow keys to move , the automatic version to aim and CTRL to shoot.

Use of the mouse to manual version.

Gene-Z Games & Team (This Game)

Programmer / Game Design
Enzo Augusto Marchiorato

Art / Game Design
Jhonatan Souza Cordeiro

Music
Paulo Mangili

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#609Audio(Jam)2.73
#668Graphics(Jam)3.15
#787Humor(Jam)2.07
#839Mood(Jam)2.71
#915Fun(Jam)2.60
#971Innovation(Jam)2.31
#1010Overall(Jam)2.67
#1094Theme(Jam)2.04

Comments

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:39am

The weblink is a link to an article, which I can't read (Spanish isn't my best).. Would like to play the game, but atm I can't find it on the website ._.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:42am

Thankx... Have problems with the web version, trying to fix

togo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:00pm

the gear droids slowly floating around and the weak gravity make it feel surrealist, and kind of pleasant.
only bad thing is i have a hard time knowing when or if i hit anything, as well as if i'm being hit.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:10pm

The environment and sound design in this game were pretty good. The models were generally well made, and the music was fitting. The controls however, felt pretty wonky and didn't work quite how I expected them to. Collisions also seemed to be a bit off, I couldn't really tell when things were in the same plane as me and when I was going to hit them.

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Good arcade style game!

The physics went a little wacky on me a few times, but not the less, it was good destructive fun.

jmf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Is the aiming automatic? It is hard to seperate enemies in the background from ones attacking you also.

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Well... It's interesting. I like the steampunk-ish graphics. And the "boom". I didn't really understand how you suposed to aim the cannon to the bots tho.

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Nice job, although I couldn't really see the theme there..?

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Nice game, great steampunk graphics

mathias234 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Nice game, but when driving the "car" seems to shutter a bit, might be because movement was handled wrongly, but overall nice fun game

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Web Version is working now,,, yessss

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:15pm

the graphics and mood are pretty good. I'm guessing the theme here is in the assimilation process which will make the tank grow larger.

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Nice job!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:47pm

If you press 'Quit' it just starts the game again! :D

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Cool game. That pit really doomed me. Good graphics.

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Fell off the level, i dont really see the point in shooting apart from rocketing you up into the sky!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10pm

I... I have.. no idea what I just played.

All I did was run around and shoot into the air, and sometimes floated up into the sky, and then I won...

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14pm

The art is really nice; the physics are bizarre - a recipe for greatness.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Great atmosphere. The level design was good; nice graphics! I did find it a little difficult at times to tell when I would be able to actually hit an enemy.

"The thing people don't realize about the Gear Wars is that it wasn't really about the gears."

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Nice visuals and concept. 3D/2D thing is a little tricky to aim with but I liked it.

Hiroma says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Mi piace molto! Well done :)

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Pretty good game. Nice graphics !

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28am

Great concept, but I have difficulty seeing which enemies I can already hit and which I can't yet.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Cool idea but too many bugs.

PanKamil says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:58pm

I head Michael Bay wants to make a movie out of your game. What an explosion fest :D.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]