Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

V BALL

by longloaf - Compo Entry

Left and right arrows to move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#149Overall3.71
#191Fun3.58
#233Theme4.00
#238Innovation3.56
#328Graphics3.39
#380Mood3.10

Comments

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53am

Took me a while to understand the controls and the gameplay...

Clever gameplay.

makiki99 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54am

A pretty intresting take on physics. It fits theme well, graphics are good, but 4th level seems to be impossible.

David says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54am

Very cool game. I like the gameplay controlls you´ve came up with. Good level design, and overall a nice game.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56am

Liked the basic game idea. The controls are very smooth! Congratz on that! A blasting soundtrack would have been great! To make me adivtive to the game a highscore would also be nice.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10am

really dig the control and aesthetic, really fun and challenging

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02am

Played it from the beginning to the end. Fun game. Great solution to the problem of not having a jump key!

Niphram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:03am

Really interesting, i like it!
It's simple, but challenging :)

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28am

It feels a tad bit slow on the edges.

wuppy29 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30am

The physics are so confusing....

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:13pm

I really dig the minimalistic art style here.

However, it really feels like you tried to force a design that probably needs at least 3 buttons into a 2 button control scheme rather than building a game that works best with 2 buttons.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:09pm

nice, entertaining and challenging

scottrick says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Couldn't get the game to start; arrow keys didn't seem to work.

Reisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Fun.

Up to level 3, you can roll your way up the walls.
Level 4 is the level where you either quit, or find out about the undocumented control.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32am

Bit confusing at first to get used to the controls but didn't take too long. Once i figured it out and once you added obstacles, this became a ton of fun really quickly!
Finished all 8 levels, number 7 gave me so much trouble haha, but it's awesome.

While playing i imagined i was some kind of little spaceship flying through a cave or something. I think this game could do really well if you add a few more mechanics to it!

concalf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53am

Really cool puzzle game. It would help if the switching blocks would indicate that they are about to change (like flicker or something)

Epicruins195 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:55am

What I liked:
- Controls feel wonderful and responsive
- Well designed and effective levels
- Simple but nice visual style
- Runs very well in the browser

What could be improved (IMO):
- An explanation of how there are actually three ways to push the controls would be nice (took me a while to figure it out)
- More levels (of course this is unreasonable given the time restriction, but there's so much potential here).

Excellent work.

dlowe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:02am

Great game! Eventually got too hard, but I think I'll come back to it later :)

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Wasn't able to play, kept getting "Unable to initialize 3D settings".

antonuklein says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:28pm

It's not clear that you can hit left and right and the difficulty, in my opinion, rises too fast. Otherwise, the game itself feels quite responsive (even if I personally find the physics weird) and it runs pretty well.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Challenging little game. Reminds me of flywrench a bit. Great job.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Really nice concept, would make a great mobile game :P

kuhnerdm says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:55pm

That was very fun. Controls and physics were really great, although I wish it also had wasd support so I could give my right hand a rest. Very addictive.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Fun addictive and frustrating. Dynamic of floating up automatically when you move was very smart and the graphics are simple but nice and softly rendered.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Interesting controls, very tricky but innovative and fun once I got the hang of it. Well done

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Some levels remind me of geometry dash.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Solid

nisio says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:01pm

The hovering mechanic is very cool.

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:07pm

hey smart idea with the left and right also pushing up!, the lines and graphics looks so clean and crisp. Level 5 was just, no. very hard, took a bunch of tries to get past the circles. I made it! woohoo, nice game. The movement is just right for a tense skill game. good work!

ChromeWisp says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:33pm

I like how natural the controls felt once I understood what they did. Excellent work on the physics!

knason says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Fun game! nice puzzles! I liked the graphics, it reminds me of math class :-)

Taffaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Enjoyed the game, not sure if I was missing something but I felt rolling up the walls was slow.

local minimum says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Very well made and quite hard game. I got to the end, but was close to giving up at an early stage. I would recommend easing up the difficulty acceleration in the early part a bit. The first level that introduces the red blocks is rather hard for someone still struggling to manage the controls. Equally so with the up and down moving balls, quite a bit to get through especially since they are moving vertically and thus when the player pushes a button to move past them the player will go up a bit and before you are used to it, timing it is really difficult. I wish there had been some music to it though. And finally, if you make left-side of screen go left and right-side to right, then you have yourself a mobile game!

cppchriscpp says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:35pm

I beat it. Well done! A little bit of a test of hand-eye coordination, but that doesn't make it not fun. I think the dashed lines in the background made it a lot easier to figure out where each button press would land you.

ruerob says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:34am

Great job! I played it to the end and it was very fun to deal with the controls! The graphics and sounds totally fit to the game! Give it a soundtrack and more levels and this could get a good complete game!

Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Neat game, challenging but fun to play. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/Fm6iQk47yZ0

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:52pm

A really good project - one of my favorites for this 34th LD session. The physics at start is a little bit strange, but after a while this game becomes really addictive. I want more levels. Thank you ++

awesomerex says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:16am

OMG! So difficult! took me forever to complete level 7! great job!

NuSan says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:30am

The gameplay fell weird at first, but after sometimes it became prety precise. The level 7 was a bit too hard for me. The game was realy fun, challengind and rewarding. Keep up the good work !

gallerdude says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Very fun! Loved the last level!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]