Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Robomancer

by JayProg - Jam Entry

Be the Robomancer! Slowly grow your horde of minions until you become unstoppable!

-Click/Hold where you want to move.
-Click/Hold on enemies to attack them
-Summon Minions from dead enemy power cores with Right Mouse Button
-Absorb power cores with spacebar
-Use your health packs with Q
-Spells are 1 - 3 once gained

Dungeons are randomly generated, and stick around for levels 3+ for more challenging enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#26Fun(Jam)4.07
#46Overall(Jam)4.04
#211Graphics(Jam)4.00
#240Innovation(Jam)3.52
#286Mood(Jam)3.50
#290Audio(Jam)3.42
#478Humor(Jam)2.71
#552Theme(Jam)3.63

Comments

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58am

cool implementation of the theme!

alexrus07 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00am

Nice graphics and gameplay, but gets dull and repetitive after a minute or two. This game could benefit greatly from variety :)

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09am

this game is pure fun, the graphics are amazing, one of the best of this ludum dare so far, the mechanics are solid, good work sir!

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:28am

At the beggining was the controls seamed strange, but after some time I got used to it. The boss was too difficult, I could not beat it. Graphics are a bit too saturated, but I liked the toonish looks. Nice entry! Congrats.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29am

Really good game. Nice graphic and sound. Very polished. The only bad thing is balance. It really easy to play, just spawn the minions and they do all the job.

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:31am

All my years of practicing skill shots has lead me to this moment. The environment is slightly barren, however the gameplay is spot on. It's super satisfying to play and I'd highly suggest you continue development on it if you have the time. The whole game is fun. My only complaint is that it doesn't relate very strongly to the jam theme, but I could be overlooking it. Awesome work.

EMPBomber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56am

Game is really fun and challenging. Aside from a few balance issues, this game is solid.

redzero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Awesome game! Really fun to play!

newbeings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Nice graphics! If you keep working on it I would considering making it WASD to move.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Wow a very professional game - would like to see this on mobile. Loads of fun and easy to play and win which is a good combination to keep players coming back. Nice work. Will come back and play this game again after I vote on some more games :D

teamross says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Really fun! Nice graphics too!
Nice way to use the theme : )

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

simple and funny game, but controls are hard (shoot and go in one click is really hard)

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Fantastic interpretation of the theme, great graphics, and a very fun game.

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:32pm

REALLY GOOD GAME! I'm impressed =D

Problem: Why left click is move and attack at the same time ?? It makes distance shots impossible because if the mouse miss the enemy by a inch, the player will go right at him =/

sim9 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36pm

WASD controls might be easier. Getting a large number of minions is cool :)

Aelius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:40am

Wow there are way too many minions on one screen. I get like 2 FPS. Cool game though.

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:04pm

very nice game, interesting graphics and mechanics.

cescababs says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:36pm

I really loved this game great fun love the minions great concept worked really well.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Cool game. If I could hold shift and left click to remain in place and shoot like in Diablo that'd be awesome. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]