Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Utter Chaos!

by Jacob123 - Jam Entry

Awfully difficult game! My high score so far is 77. Simple left and right controls for two button theme. Music was selected from here: http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/?feels%5B%5D=suspenseful

Made this in one day so that I could say I made SOMETHING for LD34!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#645Theme(Jam)3.55
#681Audio(Jam)2.33
#685Fun(Jam)2.95
#964Graphics(Jam)2.30
#1034Overall(Jam)2.60
#1044Innovation(Jam)1.79
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58pm

I got to 67. Cool little shmup. One tip, don't name your file l34. It makes it annoying to find in the download map amongst all other entries.

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:41am

It was fun, I liked the particle effects.

14Hertz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58am

I got to 92 :D
Fun little game, it's simplistic yet frustrating enough (in a good way) to make you wanna keep playing. I did get a few issues with the game freezing up after dying though.

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:09am

I've seen better games from you ^^

Anyway, a solid fun game. Only particular nitpick I have is that there's no lives count on the screen.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:21am

Fun little game!
Could use a little more variety but yeah you did it in a day so good job!
I got 66

euske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:53pm

You made something indeed!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Minimalist and cool particles FX. It could be improved, but I like the mood. Well done ++

hyperscope says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:40am

Sound effects for shooting cut out when you are to close to the enemies. Quick easy simple little game.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:27am

Good game, I got 67 too. Well done.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:41am

Really liked the particle effects on this one, there's something satisfying about playing this that brings me back to classic 80's arcade games. It's simple but challenging, and it works as a game.

My high score is 85, what a doozy, took 4 attempts to get that high. Would be fun to see varieties of squares later on, or power ups to increase damage or rate of fire or something like that. Overall though: cute and fun!

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:06am

Fun game, well put together. Sound effects are decent, particles are nice. The game feels kind of bland in its current state, you might want to add a clever mechanic to spice things up. Solid entry, nice job!

AboLD says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:09am

I really like the explosion, Well done, You finished it.

themadknights says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:21pm

The pew pew constant is a bit annoying. The game is nice, but the difficulty scale too quickly. Nice job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]