Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Orbital

by OldPeculier - Compo Entry

It's 1979, and you're landing your groovy new spaceship on a cruelly revolving planet.

Just two buttons (the arrow keys) do everything:

* LEFT turns left.
* RIGHT turns right.
* LEFT + RIGHT at the same time to thrust forward.

See how many levels you can beat! The cool kids wear large, polyester lapels and easily beat the first six levels. Are you as cool as they are?

-------------------

I'd had vague ideas of making a vector-graphics game for years but had never gotten around to adding vector rendering to my personal engine, "Fresh." When I saw the theme "Two Button Controls" I knew the time for mega-retro minimalism had come. Wonderful theme.

Hey! Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#40Mood3.97
#54Overall3.97
#55Graphics4.22
#72Audio3.78
#113Fun3.72
#233Theme4.00
#549Humor2.23
#672Innovation2.80

Comments

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54am

Really enjoyed the visual style. Could only get to level 5 before my patience broke.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:55am

Really liked the game, took me a good 5 mins to get the hang of the controls but when i did i got into it :) music matched the style and the graphics were decent for the style of game

really liked it and after voting on some others will come back and try get higher score :D

Thanks

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Game looks brilliant! Well done!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Amazing game. I lost about 5 hours in the beginning of my compo trying to do an orbit-based game, failed, gave up, and made a different game. You really nailed it.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Thanks pianoman and Eshford and Zeezgames and RadMcCool! Makes me feel happy!

ranseur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Incredible use of vector graphics! Very cool.

Chewie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Hardcore landing game with step levels curve and good visuals. Nothing new in mechanics but nice realization anyway.

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Fun, challenging little game which looked very nice. Was a little small on the screen but I squinted and leant forward in my chair which helped :)

Also, I'm a sucker for a time lapse!

csanyk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

Fantastic vector monitor emulation. Nice Lunar Landar variant. The orbital mechanics make it a lot more interesting. Made it to level 7 :)

trozen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Awesome little game! I checked out the code but the engine is missing! Any chance you can open source it?

LeafThief says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:57pm

We were surprised by how much fun we had with this! Good stuff!

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Clever spin on a classic with the two button limitation

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:00am

Lovely vector graphics! Lander games often frustrate me because the motion is so slow and they often require lots of restarts -- that said, this is a great execution of that genre, with a really nice scaling of difficulty over the course of the levels. Great job!

esayitch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:52am

Very cool and well-made. I think I found out all the ways that you can fail a level during the first level, except maybe the off the pad one xD

Graphics were very suitable, and sound was very ambient and created a really nice atmosphere.

Overall I really enjoyed it, very well-made.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Awesome visuals and Audio, loved the "asteroids"+"moon lander" style gameplay. Simple and perfectly exicuted well done.

dlowe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Level 8 :D

This was a sweet twist on a retro classic, and I loved it. Thanks for the game!

rnlf says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:48pm

I dig this vector style. Very well done!

The controls are surprisingly intuitive. I wish there was some more variation in the gameplay, but then I ragequit after trying level 10 for the billionth time.

Good game and extra points for pointing out that it's not a Unity "Web"-Player game.

OwT says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Really interesting and fun little game (also gave up at level 5) :)

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Great visual style. The game should rely less on patience, though. Amazing graphics too!

mukult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:59pm

hmmmm..not able to play it...cant see anything on the browser...might be my fault somehow...

Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Lunar lander
*but better

bessdlan says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:47pm

difficult but very nice game (could go to level 8 but it's very hard :p)
good job ;)

AndreSilvs says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:14pm

I gave up at level 11, at which point the landing pad was so small the ship barely fits and you actually have to keep up with planet's rotation to be able to land. Not being able to turn while thrusting makes it really hard at higher levels but I guess it's part of the theme. Loved the visuals, nice gameplay. Great job! Also, I would have liked to see my "Landing success rate". (So bad!)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:00am

Pretty neat, I like the sounds and the music. Sadly my ship fell down on my first try, but I manage to land it right after that.

ztiromoritz says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Looks very nice.

scorched says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Enjoyed a lot, the controls fit good, though the gameplay is a bit tough and repetitive. Played a couple of games in the past that featured landing in the same way, so not very innovative, but graphics and mood are still great! Also liked the hints explaining my mistakes, but except one - I didn't initially know that I have to land to special pads, I saw these pads as something I needed to avoid :D

arzi says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Looks really good, but insanely difficult :o

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Very retro, like the lander Flash games of the 00's :) Lost it at level 8.

hexagore says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:47pm

So this game looks absolutely brilliant and, I have to say, one of the very few games where I've immediately downloaded the source. :P

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:00am

I loved it! Looks great, good concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]