Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Elevator Game

by jnharton - Jam Entry

A game of ascending to the next floor, leaving the elevator and then being forced to walk through a maze to get back to the elevator so you can go up one more floor.

Made in Love2D.

You'll need a copy of Love2D (install or zip file) to run the .love file.

In the case of Windows and Mac OS X it's very easy. You just need to go https://love2d.org/ and click the download link for your OS. Make sure that you get the one for the correct architecture if you've got Windows (32 bit vs 64 bit) and that you get the correct variant (install or zipfile).

P.S.
There are probably bugs. If it looks like there isn't a level, I probably didn't put it in. If it crashes weirdly, try running it again. Repeat crashes = bugs or problems with the code.

Instructions to be added later... Briefly:
- click on the up/down arrows to use the elevator
- left/right mouse opens/closes elevator door
- 'e' enters the level, 's' removes the windows and stays in the elevator
- 'z' and 'x' are the -two buttons- that you can use to move around within levels
- you can use 'esc' to close any windows that are in the way

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2210Coolness20%

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27am

I was able to get through the elevator and most of the maze, but I'm really not sure what to do. Good start!

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:18am

nice game!

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Despite being on Windows it says I need love.dll unfortunately.

Ancient_Pixel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:30pm

I unfortnately can´t start the game, because i am missing 3 dlls (love, lua and SDL)

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:46pm

I can't run it, missing 3dlls. Using Windows. =I

jnharton says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Hmm. That's odd... I'll have a look at that.

jnharton says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:06am

To the Windows users:

It seems I missed a step in packaging it where you are supposed to include the DLLs. Sorry. :|

In any case, despite trying to I couldn't get the new arrangement to work for me locally (the exe wouldn't run properly even with the correct dlls in the folder), so I've just ditched the EXE altogether.

That said, it's very easy to just go and get a copy of Love2D as a zip file (from their website) for your architecture (separate ones for the 32 and 64 bit). Just grab that, unzip it and drag the .love file (from here) onto the love.exe file to run the game.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:30am

Still not completely sure how I managed to move around but I got to the back elevator and then I think that was the end?

jachepe says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:13am

Good and solid game! maybe the difficult is a bit low

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]