Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

NGHGM

by Stals - Jam Entry

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: Post-Jam version includes only some bugfixes and some changes
that can help you understand the rules of the games more easily
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

NGHGM - NEXT GEN HARDWARE GROWING MADNESS

NGHGM is a game where you build motherboards using different components, earn money, upgrade and grow your wealth. To place components, you will need energy/heat, and you only have 7 - so spend it wisely.

Grow your motherboard! Make it to the 45 rating!
(Please read the tips. This is all the tutorial that we could handle late at night, cuz this is Ludum, baby!)

- Get an extra +1 if the color of a component and slot match
- "Adj' means adjacent components in a cross pattern
- Get a score of 45 to complete a game
- Balance CPU, GPU and RAM to get more money
- UTI cards don't cost anything to place
- You will get a lower score if any stat is 0

Made by:
Stas Korotaev @StalsKnight
Svetozar the Strong
Alexander Grishanin
Mote Keatinge - Music & Sound (@MoteKeatinge / motekeatinge.co.uk)
Alexander Nemov

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Walkthrough of the game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BGnX6UEJTUk
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#59Innovation(Jam)3.93
#159Overall(Jam)3.74
#179Audio(Jam)3.62
#187Fun(Jam)3.60
#304Graphics(Jam)3.81
#332Mood(Jam)3.44
#985Theme(Jam)2.81

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:11am

A really interesting puzzle game, would love a non-web version

Stals says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43am

@Theropod Studios Thank you for the comment. I've just added Windows and OSX builds.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50pm

nice game

Ithildin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15pm

The connection to the theme is a bit loose, but I love the game. From aesthetics to mechanics, it's a really solid entry, well done!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:56am

Very nice and polished game and interesting setting. Kinda addicting, good job! :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:48pm

That was fun but it seems like may be it could do with a fail condition. Even when I don't really pay attention and build myself in a corner I can still just release and get money. So overall there doesn't seem to be any way to lose or need to pay attention to the mechanics unfortunately.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:33am

I absofuckinglutely love this game. It is BY FAR the game I have spent the most time on.
It took me a while to figure out that I'm upgrading the cards after building, and not purchasing more cards for some kind of deck.
I would love to have some kind of turn indicator, to see how fast I have managed to get to the 45 score board.
I would personally enjoy it much more if it was a sort of deck building game, instead of upgrades, that way you'd be able to sort of tailor the components you like to get.
Still, excellent entry!

Stals says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Thank you all for the comments, I will try to fix some issues for the post-compo version this weekend. +Display the number of boards it took you, improve feedback and better show how the score is calculated.

@timeshapers we actually thought about the deck building, but the time was running out =) Btw, after some time we may continue developing it into a full game, so if you are interested - you can follow me on twitter: @StalsKnight

@inbetweengames we will try to come up with something and maybe add it to the post-compo version.

AlexHonor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Nice game! Although it was a bit hard to get the idea of what is going on :D And I have occasionaly managed to crash the game by spaming the release button( lots of cards appeared on the screen overlapping each other ) Good luck.

myachin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:35pm

wow! one of the best game on this ld!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Like it a lot. Great visuals.

Could you put postLD version on itch.io with itch support? Any plans for mobile version?

gallerdude says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Fun puzzle game with neat sounds.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:03am

A pretty cool game, although difficult as hell! Really nice resource management, although it's sometimes too random.

Dohxis says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Seems like a very detailed game with a good idea behind it but a little hard to understand what's happening and how to optimize the score. I played the original version, since post jam really does not interest me in the slightest. My final opinion is that the game certainly has where to improve, but I really love the idea and I think it is well made. Good job!

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:47pm

This game is great fun! Took a long time to understand what exactly was going on, but taking that time was absolutely worth it.

Markus Brand says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:05pm

its addicitve! But i also think that you failed the theme a bit

JayProg says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Really great presentation and design. Definitely a interesting concept too, I liked the real-world connection to building my own computer.

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Awesome!

LeReveur says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Interesting puzzle, unexpected background, good !

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:18pm

Interesting idea, good job!!

Yamzho says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:17pm

I spent too much time playing that game... Well done !

UncleChris says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Liked the puzzle aspect, very nice graphics and smooth handling. I did enjoy it.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Pretty fun and interesting entry although I would like a more clearer explanation as to why my builds seems to be unbalanced every time.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]