Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

JUMPR

by Supernaught - Jam Entry

JUMPR
A 2-button endless runner by Supernaught

---

Controls:
Z – Switch run direction
UP Arrow – Jump
R – Restart game

---

Created by Supernaught (@_supernaught)
Code: Alphonsus (@alphnsus)
Art: Dave (@momorgoth)

Music: "This Little Piggy Danced" by RoccoW (http://freemusicarchive.org/music/RoccoW/)

---

Changelog

Update 1.0.1 (Dec. 15, 2015)
- Reduced respawn delay
- Add R button to restart

Update 1.0.2 (Dec. 17, 2015)
- Fix bug on high score not loading when game starts

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#32Fun(Jam)4.05
#73Overall(Jam)3.93
#97Audio(Jam)3.89
#127Theme(Jam)4.14
#225Graphics(Jam)3.98
#332Mood(Jam)3.44
#339Humor(Jam)2.95
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33
#2311Coolness14%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:19am

Well done. Amazing concept, but you need to allow the player to play right after he dies. Even the shortest delay can feel like an eternity when you are frustrated ;). Overall, however, it was amazing!

grifdail says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Absolutly amazing... A bit hard but really cool ! I love the music. Is there a place where I can download it !

SoulBound says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:02pm

This is a really fun game. The music is also really well done.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:51am

Super hard to control but well done.

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:46am

This is really awesome. The look and sound were on point. If you made this for mobile (using the gyro to change direction and single tap to jump I would think) it would be an excellent mobile game. Really good work on this!

logon13 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Solid mechanics got a score of 11. Looking at how many comments there are this game definitely deserves more plays

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:54pm

This game is really hard to get used to, reminds me a lot of Super Meat Boy! Good job :)

Boberro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:04pm

This game is one that raises the violence :) So difficult.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Tough but fun to play, liked the music. Best score I could do was 10.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Looks like a solid game.

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Too hard play it with dat controls, but looks like nice!

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Original gameplay, though a bit hard. But it is a nice game overall!

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Excellent use of the controls them - it's simple but it's what makes the game so fun. Very nice work - it's very fun, simple, pretty, and totally rage inducing! ;)

You should consider making a full version (for mobile?) :D

CrownCity says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Obviously this game is pretty difficult, but I think you guys have done a great job with that! It's a typical game where you notice you get better the longer you play.
It's a very solid game with a good replay-value

newbeings says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:45pm

A really polished and well realized jam game. Awesome work! Reminds me of Swing Copters.

Xgor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Quite a fun little game. It would be nice if the character slightly decelerated every time you turn so you got a better sense of weight for the character but that's just my two cents.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Cool game! The art and the juicyness in this game are amazing. It was very hard haha

sputnik says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Ouch! this is hard! Really great work here!

wine says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Damn! It's addictive XD

justinooncx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Well-polished game with enjoyable gameplay. Well done! Definitely has a mobile vibe to it.

felixreeve says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Good game, fun mechanics and polished enough to be enjoyable! I feel like the camera shouldn't rise until you've left the start zone, just to allow the player to get used to the controls?

Rocketship says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:07pm

It's devilishly hard but in a way that doesn't make you just give up but makes you want to get better. Very well done in that aspect. The controls feel very snappy and good and the graphics are also pretty. Special mention for the excellent sounds, the background music is so good.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:08pm

The game looks, sounds and feels very good and the controls are new and interesting. Good job!

However, it is waaaaay too hard and I only got a score of 7 :(
Maybe add multiple levels of difficulty next time, please?

Split82 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Amazing feel, graphics, effects, sound and everything!. Unfortunately I guess it would be even better with normal platformer controls :) Anyway awesome game.

VrachLab says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Very hard and very fun. nice work :)

tribrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:44pm

I think the game is bit complicated to domain though being there only 2 controls, the animations and art in general are good, also the music and the concept are great!!

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Very well crafted entry!
The concept was very fun.
My feedback would be to show more of the top of the screen.
Many times I would die because of an obstacle I hadn't been able to see.

Loved the music, good job!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:04pm

This game is as cute as brutal! The game mechanic feels really polished and presentation-wise it's plain awesome: small details like the camera shocks and the particle systems make it visually stunning.

Difficulty is unforgiving, but it's also part of the fun. We've competed against each other to achieve the best record, so an online ranking would really add up.

A really really well produced package!

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Nice entry, the game is very hard but offers a good replay value. The music works but I turned it off after a few tries :) Well done!!

Dreyan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Excellent vibe, obviously this would transition to mobile very well. Great artwork and sound deign, top quality game

Mat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Nice little game, a bit hard but that's what's good !

Devark says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Great feel, music and graphics. the controls are really tight, though I feel like the constant horizontal movement is there only to fit the theme. it adds a layer of unnecessary difficulty to me - I'd have preferred normal platforming controls. the game is really polished though, the exploding crate effect is super satisfying! Great job!

jim3wg says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:14am

Very hard and addictive

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Hard game. But i liked it. Just how people said, make the restart game faster. And the music really fits!

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Super great! Well done. Really hard but it is fun. Has that meat boy vibe.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Such a nice design and animations! but he is runner sooo fast :D I died so much in the beginning that I kinda gave up. still nice done!!

randomhuman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Excellent game, but really hard.

EwChap says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:06am

Real tough but very well put together. Great job

Tipyx says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:27am

Not the best controls but everything else is pretty good :)

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Those deaths were brutal, I think the level starts way too hard with those spikes on the first platform, but the music was nice, graphics were good and the gameplay was solid nonetheless.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:52am

Fantastic! Reminded me alot of flappy bird with its difficulty. The particles and sounds were great as well!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:23pm

FYI: They didn't make the music. Read the description, everybody 9_9

Very nice job! Someone needs to remind me to make something like this for LD next time around. :)

Your controls and difficulty are fine, despite what other people might think. I would agree that the very beginning is a tad difficult for a first-timer. I don't really think that's a fault; perhaps it was a design choice to forcibly teach the player the basic mechanics of the game right away?

The main character's animation is hilarious, though you don't really notice it at first. What the heck is he doing? hahaha...

FYI, if you run to the left in the very beginning and keep jumping as you reach the left side of the screen you can clip through and die to the spikes on the second floor =X oops!

Great job guys :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]