Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing experiment

by LabOne - Compo Entry

Controls:

Use left mouse button to shoot to weak your enemies.
Use right mouse button to speed up to escape from huge worms.

Use mouse and mouse wheel to look around and zoom.

Press R to restart.

There was some mouse bug. If everything is reversed just press R to restart, or slide your mouse forward very fast.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#734Mood2.56
#759Theme3.33
#782Graphics2.47
#799Fun2.63
#814Overall2.80
#882Innovation2.30

Comments

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:39am

Have to say, the game is not really innovative. It's like a 3D snake with enemies. Having said that, as of right now, it's not that much fun to paly. The game is pretty hard and I died pretty fast, which is not a problem to me, if it don't have to go trough the intro every time. A skip button would be appreciated. I did like the colors and desert-like map.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54am

Oh man...
Is it possible for you to add a Mac build...or web build ?

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:36am

It plays quite similarly to agar.io, and perhaps could have worked better from a top down perspective rather than a 3rd person one. I found that it was a bit difficult to control with the mouse, and extremely difficult to shoot enemies as you had to hit their heads and they moved so fast. That said, it is well put together and the enemy AI is good for a game made in 48 hours.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:46am

Not really innovative, but the graphics look really awesome, especially with the soft shadows.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Very nice

vogon101 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Really love it.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:26pm

It would be more fun if you move faster while you small, like agar.io

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:35pm

nice game dude.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02am

Minimalistic graphics, a new take on oldschool classic snake

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:34pm

There is something kind of horrifying with those pink ball chains hunting you down. The game itself is kind of hard. With all the enemies chasing you, I never had a chance to really turn around and shoot anyone!

Budi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Interesting concept, I would like it, when there some changes.

You should be able to eat the food from a bigger distance - now it's quite hard to aim for it. The mouse bug is pretty bad (playing in reverse is hardcore). Also after each restart there shouldn't be the tutorial again.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:51am

The game is a classic collect and grow type of game, but I felt the gameplay was lacking a difficulty-guideline. Every enemy was just a bigger version of the previous enemy, which made the game less fun over time. But keep up the work

blubberquark says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Can't run UE4 games in WINE
-bob

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]