Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Feed the Cat

by Polona - Jam Entry

Here’s my game, “Feed the cat”. Feed the cat with mice, birds and fishes but don’t let the cat get hit by the balls of wool. You have three lives. The cat is very hungry, so try to catch as many animals as you can. Don’t forget to turn your sound on.

I hope you will like it.

Theme: Two button controls
Controls: Arrow keys (up and down)
Used Technologies: Kha2D-Engine (http://tech.ktxsoftware.com)

p.s. Web version is a little bit slow. Make fullscreen to make it easier. If you like the game, download Windows or OS X Version.

Made by Polona Caserman

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#403Humor(Jam)2.83
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#920Theme(Jam)3.04
#993Fun(Jam)2.42
#1001Overall(Jam)2.69

Comments

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44am

Cute graphics. I think a little movement or scrolling from the background would really add a lot to this game though.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:46am

I liked the idea, but it was very difficult (especially in the web player). I think you totally should have had nine lives though! :P

danidre14 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:00am

Nice graphics, ad gameplay.

Question....how do fish float on grass? Hilarious!

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:25am

Great graphics and animations. Love the cat noise. Had trouble with the page moving until I went full screen. Super cute!

kostak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:00am

Boring runner about the cat.
The html version lag hopelessly management.

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:02am

Is that the photonstorm bird? :D Lovely graphics. The wollballs patterns were a little too unpredictable to be avoided sometimes. Cool game tho, good job!

Aelius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:43am

You wrote "Don't forget to turn the sound on", but you don't have the rating for sound on.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:57am

You should have given the cat 9 lives, I am disappoint. :|

h.attila says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Is it just me or is it really hard? Really cute idea though.

Polona says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Well, the sound works only once (the first time you get hit or when you catch another animal). That's just a bug i could not fix...

I also think that my games are always way to easy. Maybe because i know how the game object are acting (just some simple easing functions, e.g. bouncing). Perhaps 9 lives for a cat would be really better...

Knowledge says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:36am

OK game, not so good because it's a bit slow and boring. But it's good game if you are first/second timer.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]