Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Be A Man

by Neil - Jam Entry

Be A Man And Grow A Beard
==========================================================================

The ultimate facial hair and gentleman simulator.

Grow your beard and moustache, maintain it using beard oil, while avoiding lice and scissors! Use gathered coins to purchase items to further enhance your image.

Remember, with great beard, come great responsibility!

==========================================================================
This game was created by my brother and I in Unity.
All graphics were done in Inkscape.

I have added a experimental WebGL version. It is not as performant as the desktop version and screenshake is disabled.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#120Humor(Jam)3.62
#161Fun(Jam)3.65
#217Overall(Jam)3.65
#300Graphics(Jam)3.82
#304Theme(Jam)3.91
#424Audio(Jam)3.18
#496Mood(Jam)3.23
#631Innovation(Jam)2.97

Comments

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16pm

This was awesome! haha. Great Job.

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Your game is quite good with nice graphics but it has bad music quality.

marod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:24pm

I liked it, a very fun game!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Pretty neat! Took me a little to realize that the normal match-3 rules don't apply and I can just use my imagination to set up really big combos.
Got my godly beard and moustache, pretty fun game!
Well done :)

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Unable to play web entry...and I'm on a mac...so can't play on windows :|

Oski says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Great art, needs some color though! Bad quality audio. Overall pretty good.

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Awesome game! Could have sworn that I heard the Skype "end call" bloop in your soundtrack though haha

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:02pm

It took me a little while before I realized I could swap stuff all over the board. Fun little game. A bit confusing that it could give very happy comments about leveling down though.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:10am

Good job. Fun idea and the music is good.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Ha ha, nice!
The only downside is that tokens are hard do distinguish.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Hahaha i liked so much this game. Excellent job! :)

purrpurr says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:54pm

This is harder than it looks. Very fun game.

bessdlan says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:57pm

good job ;)

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:00pm

I like the idea of the game. The added options to buy hats, scars and glasses are great ;) Sadly the game isn't really challenging, but nontheless it's a nice entry.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Hah! Love the theme. Eventually I realized there's no limit to moves, so you can just manipulate everything into big combos. Kinda fun to do, but it felt too "easy" at that point. Still, this was enjoyable. =)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]