Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Track Jumper

by BobmooJ - Compo Entry

THEME: Two button controls

A dodging game I made in a few hours. I was busy both days so I didn't get as much done as I wanted. I suck at graphics, so I didn't even bother.
Music by me.

Z and X to dodge.
R to restart
ESC to quit.
Collect yellow
Avoid red
WARNING: MAY CAUSE MOTION SICKNESS!

The HTML version has some sound bugs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#282Theme3.96
#317Audio3.00
#586Fun3.00
#673Overall3.00
#829Graphics2.30
#832Innovation2.48

Comments

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01am

Really good! The moving of the camera added to the challenge.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:18am

Nice simple game and good use of the theme. The camera movement definitely makes it trickier. Just a shame it's not that long (or am I just shockingly bad at playing it?), I was left wanting more :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:23am

Nice camera, that confuse when you have to press x or z, nice job

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07am

The camera angle change was not expected! Great way to increase the challenge!

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:26pm

it was working well, but red and yellow were too close to one from another

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:30pm

interesting, for something made in a few hours it's pretty solid

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47pm

This game is cool. The camera made the game much trickier to play, but overall, a very solid game.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:34am

This is like 2D Audiosurf. I understand what you were going for with the rotating camera and tank controls, but honestly I think it would be a lot better if left/right controls corresponded to left/right on the screen. Great job though.

Thembi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:35am

First time I played it, I thought I was supposed to avoid all those things, lol. Thought I did great until I got a score of 1.

marod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:38pm

It's hard and a great game but I expected a beter audio

Zulgot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Simply but pretty funny game :) More soundtracsk would be nice thought.

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Minimalistic approach works pretty well in this case. Pick-up sounds clash too much with the music

Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:35am

Challenging! I like the camera rotation. More variety in the music would have been nice.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]