Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tale Of Two Buttons

by RevelBase - Jam Entry

A Tale of two Buttons
In a world of bouncy fabrics, two buttons are on the run to escape certain death. Each is equipped with a special power. Use Y to jump with one button and X to dash through breakable obstacles with the other. Hit YX simultaneously to switch the buttons.
Let fate never push you down!
Used tools:
Unity
Photoshop
3DSMax
Audacity
Music maker jam

As always time was short in the end and some stuff didn´t make it in. But we had a great time and a lot of fun.
We hope you will enjoy our little game 
Peer, Brice and Becky

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#87Graphics(Jam)4.35
#87Theme(Jam)4.21
#201Audio(Jam)3.58
#231Mood(Jam)3.59
#328Innovation(Jam)3.39
#462Humor(Jam)2.73
#572Overall(Jam)3.26
#665Fun(Jam)2.97

Comments

sim9 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41pm

WebGL build wouldn't work for me on Chrome

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/307309/LD34/HTML5/Release/taleOfTwoButtons.js Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/307309/LD34/HTML5/Release/taleOfTwoButtons.datagz Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
UnityLoader.js:1 Invoking error handler due to
Uncaught incorrect header check

Ithildin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41pm

The Webplayer build works fine, but the WebGL one is crashing on Chrome :S

Graphics and audio are lovely, but unfortunately the controls were a bit lacking, which made the game frustrating. Coordinating both sides is already a challenging task (and where a huge chunk of the fun resided), so there's no need to add further complications ;)

If you can improve that you can get a very nice game.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Really neat game, I love the visuals!

Rscar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Enjoyed the graphics and the concept! Experienced a number of bugs while playing though. Was challenging to learn correct movements and found myself mashing x and y, which causes the fabrics to spread further and further out, and then crashed on level complete.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Very neat interpretation of the theme, original mechanics and nice graphics!

anshulsinghxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45pm

really love the concept and the graphics style . Had fun playing it

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Awesome game! A few bugs and the WebGL bug doesn't work. Anyways, the webplayer one was fine! Graphics were so cool.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Hi, WebGl is broken, if case you need help, maybe the solution will be to check ".htaccess". Sometimes you need to delete it from folder.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Its good game though some bugs here and there. Graphics are well done, though buttons could feel more responsive.

anv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Control two buttons using two buttons? It really takes a moment to get used to controls (yeah, I know there only two buttons, but still) - not only you need to steer two characters in two separated levels, one of them is upside down! Visually game looks really nice and together with upbeat music fits well into carefree story of two buttons traversing the textile world.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Music's great, visuals are solid, and the design seems good, but the game's just a bit too glitchy to be playable.

Dashing seems to involve random jittering which sometimes tries to clip through the central platform. And jumping with Y sometimes makes X jump as well, at random points. I've found the most effective strategy to be mashing both Y and X quickly, which causes both buttons to leap away from the central platform and avoid all the obstacles.

Also, X and Y on a QWERTY keyboard are incredly far apart (I'm guessing you were developing for a QWERTZ). A and D might have been a cleaner option.

RevelBase says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:07am

My first attempt at physics based controls, totally buggy :P yes, I used a german keyboard, very poor choice of keys ! (the mouse is even worse, give it a try !)

Neoludo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:51am

Very nice concept and cute art style. Perhaps a clearer difference between the two buttons would've been nice though, as I regularly found myself forgetting which was which. The controls were a bit hard to get used to and I feel like it took a bit too long to switch the character's positions, which meant doing so was a bit of a chore and often got me killed.
I also discovered that spamming y+x together allowed me to fly over the entire map, which was fun!
Overall a really neat concept for a puzzle game and one that was rather enjoyable, good work!

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:51am

Really neat, good aesthetic.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:28am

Great little game, awesome graphics

guoboism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:11am

Interesting game. Love the cloth style.

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:02pm

I'm not sure if it's the WebGL version only, but this is what I tried, it seems that the buttons are randomly jumping / dashing and it is kinda laggy. Besides that it looks like an interesting concept, I'd very much like to play a solid version of it.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Great visuals, but I don't have a lot of feeling of control.

Valandre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Nice entry, just a little hard, but fun! such a good exploitation of the theme!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Really liked the graphics and audio, really suited the game. Your take on the two button theme was great, I would never have thought of that.

davisan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:08am

Great game! Amazing audio, graphics and use of theme!

yuigoto says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:51am

Graphics are beautiful and, together with the soundtrack, makes a pretty nice and cute package. Couldn't get the gameplay right away, though. :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]