Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Flutter

by cudabear - Jam Entry

Flutter is an experiment to make a two-button puzzle platformer.

Flutter is also a cat who can't jump and loves butterflies.

This is a game about Flutter.

Created by husband-and-wife duo Cudabear and Melda Silas. Have fun!

CONTROLS:
- Left arrow: move left
- Right arrow: move right

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#282Overall(Jam)3.56
#284Theme(Jam)3.93
#321Fun(Jam)3.40
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33
#546Mood(Jam)3.18
#564Audio(Jam)2.88
#579Humor(Jam)2.55
#798Graphics(Jam)2.86

Comments

pontooncity says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14am

Great little platformer. I like the in-game tips. Oh, and the cat-explosion

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18am

Neat little game, some nice features fitting to the theme. Think the animation is a little slow for the speed, but the art is decent.

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19am

Nice little game, cool artwork :) A neat platformer.

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29am

You managed a lot of mechanics and levels in a short space of time, good job! It was pretty intuitive mechanically. Some puzzles stumped me briefly but nothing was overly hard - good progression.

Outbreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Had fun! Great game!

Vidinu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Nice game <3

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38pm

amazing that you made so many levels! graphics could be better, but the amount of mechanics and levels and the mechanics a great!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Animation of death scares me

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12pm

R key got stuck :\

cudabear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18pm

@Humanics, this is a bug with web input. Usually pressing the key again will fix it. Otherwise, try refreshing the page as your progress is saved via cookies.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33pm

So cute and funny! Great work :)

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:47pm

A very classic platformer-puzzler, made me remember a lot of classic games. The pacing and ramping of the difficulty was done well also. The audio and graphics need a bit of work, although the backgrounds were pretty. Also, there wasn't anything that really would separate it from the old platformers, I would have liked to see something innovative too!

JALgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Nice platformer, really fun to play. Both themes well fitted.

esayitch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:46am

Death animation startled me every single time lol xD

Very neat game :) Only suggestion would be to make the cat walk animation play faster, as it looks a bit choppy.

Sounds were great, idea and theme usage were also great!

Good luck!

jeff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:30am

Good mechanics, the graphics are pleasants: a good game!

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:57am

Very impressive. I love a good puzzle platformer, and there was some real head-scratching here. The music was relaxing, and I liked the cat's falling pose. good job!

reheated says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Splendid game, the last few levels were a really good challenge. The death scene is traumatising.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Wow, i got a jump scare when i died. Good way resizing sprites to win/lose. Also awesome work workign with 2 buttons (3 with R)

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:46am

Pretty fun game and nice music. Great job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:21am

I love it! I like the way that you've used interacting with the environment to make up for limited controls. There was a very good mix of action and puzzle platforming. I also like how you made seed order matter to add an extra layer of complexity to the puzzles. Fantastic job!

Anachron says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:13am

Lovely music; excellent happy mood! Thanks :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:39am

I enjoyed the look of this game, really helped the atmosphere of it all.

that death animation startles me almost every time though, for whatever reason haha.

you made a very nice set of mechanics, and they allow for some really interesting puzzles, well done!

I'm actually generally surprised by how competent of a platformer you managed to build using only two buttons, overall, nice work! :)

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:58am

Trully a puzzle, loved the music and the simple graphics. Cool mechanics also. Keep up the good work!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Fun little game. I like the spin on the platformer genre.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Always a fan of a game featuring cats. Too bad the Flutter cannot jump.

acotis says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Not too bad. I like the concept and how it combines the themes, but I found the levels frustrating an unpolished, e.x. some levels had useless pieces and most had no satisfying "aha" moment. Also, the dying animation is really startling :P

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:33pm

hey, I read your post on the analytics, pretty insightfull. so I gave it a go to see where I would end up.

the first few level went pretty well. the only thing is that the up arrow confused me a bit and for some time I thought pressing up would make me jump at those place (didn't always work obviously).

then I also had problems with the bees at level 5. I think me and a lot of players die here because of the sign. I tried to jump on the bees to kill them. I know, it makes no sense, I just thought the sign hinted at this. the bees visibility maybe also played a role. I didn't see them the first time I hit them.

then I stopped at level 8, because there were so many impressions. I think it's because of the sudden jump in pickups and the enormous walls with brown patterns covering almost the entire level.

I see not many people have left this one like me, but players leaving at level 6 could have the same reason also since you suddenly go from 1 to 3 floors.

I think it's a cool mechanics though and a creative use of both themes. you can create some nice options for them for puzzles or use them for timing and coordination like you did with the bees. it's just seems difficult to create multiple choices and make it interesting as a puzzle. you can make the level more complex but this will probably scare players. I think you gotta find a way to create more choices but not stump the player with it. visually or mechanicly.

kmakai says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:02pm

This was a really nice entry, I liked how relaxing the gameplay was when paired with the music (great job!). The art was cute and felt complete, it was a good complement to the game itself. Overall I had fun with this, congrats!

TaoPhoenix says ...
Feb 10, 2016 @ 11:04am

Whew!

I beat the game with only 88 retries! (Yikes)

Some tips for players:

Some of the moves are pixel sharp. But they all work.

In my opinion there are 2-3 "scorcher" levels near the end; the early levels are to demonstrate the mechanics.

There is no "gravity penalty" as found in some games of this genre.

Good luck!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]