Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Endless Rallye

by mnill - Compo Entry

Completed in one day.

Code - Pixi.js for rendering, pure JS for logic.
Paint - Pixelmator
Sounds - cfxr
music - beepbox.co

Sources https://bitbucket.org/mnillcoway/rallye

EDIT:
On second day i added simple leaderboard functionally.
Who can beat me? :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#553Audio2.48
#586Fun3.00
#642Theme3.54
#654Graphics2.79
#719Mood2.59
#844Overall2.75
#938Innovation1.61
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 1:35pm

This is so simple, for me Ludum Dare's all about learning, and it feels like you learned nothing by making this game... You could take some time to play around with the store system, maybe make a store or something.

Djimpey says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:33pm

I think it was a nice little and addictive game. And i disagree with OfficialProjectFantasy, people is in different stages in game development, and people learn also by making a small game, everybody starts somewhere.

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:52pm

good, tho it makes my eyes hurt a little

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Nice game but not so difficult to developp. But this is maybe a choice, and i respect it.
Easy concept, but it works :)

victorfisac says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:10pm

You should add some mechanics... but still good

Gyfis says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:11pm

The game is rather simple but it works and I played a while :) I think some animations or at least different car colors would make the experience better.

Tosic says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Nice! Fun, simple, love the take on the theme :D

RoseOwnage says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Loved it, kinda reminds me of the games I played in the past. Fun and Simple. Also both themes are used, great job!

velddev says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Pretty neat and simple!

Eigen says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:02pm

If you centered the game and had spacebar or some other key restart the race after crash, I would play it a whole lot more. Pretty zen dodging in and out of lanes.

mxjones says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Enjoyed it, the controls feel smooth. Nice one

Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:49pm

It has a great oldschool flash game feel. It's like i'm back in middle school! Controls are super smooth which makes maneuvering in between a line of cars to grab that coin so satisfying. The sense of speed was really well done as well. Is there a difficulty scaling?

Prox says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:15pm

The dashed lines hurt the eyes, continuous would be better. Center the game in the page is an important thing to do.

The gameplay needs to be enhanced with, for exemple, a "FUEL" or "NITRO" object which increase the global speed of the game and allow the player to score more.

I liked the controls, very smooth and reactive, the really good reading of the game.

icereci says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Fun little game. Enjoyed. Only thing is, It would be nice if coins are generated exclusively in reachable areas.

ddr2 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:10pm

quite simple but it works well. the sounds are a bit irritating though. I love the fact that you did not completely stop the game when a crash happen and that car behind you can also hit you, creating bigger crashes (could be fun to have a counter of how much of a mess you made by crashing on the road for instance :D )

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

It's a simple game but it seems feature complete for what it needs to be.
The audio does not play in firefox.
For future highscore boards it might be worth to validate the submitted score: You could send a recording of the players inputs to to the server and check that your end up with the same result.
Overall, a small but complete game.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:49am

The game is rather simple but it works and I played a while :) I think some animations or at least different car colors would make the experience better.

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21am

Great job! I didn't beat you yet, but wait for it! :)

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:24am

Leaderboard functionality is really cool and adds some fun to this. I played this a lot longer than I would have expected but right now I'm tops! 411 points. Do you have the endurance to withstand the 8 note loop for 10 minutes to beat me?

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:28am

Hey there, fellow driving game jammer! Nice work there. :)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:28am

Makes me think of Road fighter - but without the challenge. Simple idea, but seem to lack some innovation of that something that will make it stand out. Control are smooth though and adding some challenges would be cool to eliminate repetitiveness.

kaynank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:52pm

The 3D-ish coins look wrong next to the 2D cars and highway. Same with the death smoke effect.

iovorobiev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18am

Love this gameplay:) But, I guess, you need increase speed with time to make it more hardcore. Good job!

eric777 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:10pm

It is always nice to play a simple game that you can enjoy without struggling to wrap your head around. Well done, solid with no glitches, just good casual fun that is easily accessible.

very nicely done!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:18pm

For something made in a day, this is fine, it even has a (sort of) leaderboard, (I'm now on Pos 5 with 228). Note to self: implement leaderboard next time :)

thristhart says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:51am

There's something great to be said for doing a simple thing very well! I want more polished small scope games like this one in Ludum Dare.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:55am

Haha nice little endless compo :) I finally scored 608. Cool gameplay mechanic, a bit repetitive after a while :) Maybe speeding it up after some point or changing other cars' patterns (and colors!) could increase intensity and levelling !
Good small scope compo !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]