Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SpaceEx

by Tangible Games - Jam Entry

SpaceEx is a game about a space courier. It's like a courier, but... in space!

Update: Added a map with all stations for your convenience!

You have only two buttons to control the game - F and J

And once you have to use enter and twenty something keys to enter your name, but it doesn't count. It's not about gameplay, it's about scoring, and we have ONLINE SCORES!

Let's not waste your time, go on and play SpaceEx!

Update 16.12: Windows version added
Updated version for OS X. No changes to gameplay, art or story. Two small changes, as far as we know, both aren't violating the terms of the Jam:
- your score is shown in any case, even if you haven't made the top 12 list.
- user names with spaces don't prevent display of top scores

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#212Humor(Jam)3.30
#480Theme(Jam)3.71
#497Innovation(Jam)3.17
#505Graphics(Jam)3.48
#508Overall(Jam)3.33
#553Mood(Jam)3.17
#568Fun(Jam)3.10

Comments

fxtagn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05am

Attractive gameplay and cool "cell-shaded" objects! Too easy, as for me.

themadknights says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Looks good! The controls are a bit awkward, sometimes the truck spin a lot :D. I think it needs some kind of music and audio effects.

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Pretty cool, super easy to figure out, at no point was I really confused, and lots of elements of the game are nicely polished.

The limited number of sprite frames to represent the direction of the vessel caused me some problems though, because it made it a little hard to tell just how much of an effect a brief hold of a thruster was going to have, until I discovered that I had held too long. The feedback the game is providing the player is limited, in other words.

Also, there seems to be an asymmetry with the two thrusters or the center of gravity or something. Holding the right thruster alone with gradually produce an ever expanding spiral, but holding the left thruster alone will quickly result in a wild spin in one spot. Going straight still works as expect, but trying to adjust the vessel's angle is tricky because adjusting clockwise behaves differently than counter-clockwise.

One other minor suggestion: Provide some visual indication around the target station (like a glowing/strobing ring?) in addition to the arrow. This is just in case an intermediate station is in the direct path toward the next station. If the player isn't watching the arrow super carefully, they're likely to head straight for the intermediate station, wonder why they're not docking, and only eventually notice the arrow is still pointing elsewhere.

sichevoid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Fun-fun game! With plot and online scores even :) Good job!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:47am

Cool game! I could't get the hang of the controls, and ended up crashing onto a big asteroid after delivering a couple of packages. I installed OpenAL as suggested, but there was no audio in the game, what happened?

Good job, keep it up!

SayRafon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:55pm

What a lovely cell-shaded graphics, love them !
Good work with your game ;)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Love the look of the game and the controls! The dialogues are fun and well written. Overall a nice, polished game. Well done!

I recorded while I played the game, it's uploading to this URL: https://youtu.be/tXdjd8jHWbI

Chewie says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Nice game, polished & a lot of details.
Only concern - F & J as controls? strange choice.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Feels a bit awkward with 16 discrete directions to go, but spinning with angular momentum and smooth linear movement.

thesquigglez says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:40pm

the view should be bigger, i kept running into asteroids i couldnt see. otherwise was pretty good!

sonelliot says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:50am

Nice graphics. It was quite easy, the hardest and most fun part for me was trying to pilot the truck. Hard to get it perfect when you needed to adjust while flying.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:17pm

I'm a big fan of cell shading so you had me there, also online scores are a big thumbs up in my book.

zulman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Everythin is nice :) In Russia FTL and Dalnoboyshiki (truck simulator) are very popular. Nice to see combination of them! Hope you'll enjoy our Let's Play Simulator 2016 as well http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114

Troma says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:34pm

good jog, great graphics. Need Audio and SFX.

Eingya says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:14pm

That's extremely polished for a game made in three days, well done!

aare says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:14pm

The controlls of the vehicle are unnecessary hard due to the snappy animation. It's really hard to know when you have enough momentum and preciselly control the ship. In one moment it was standing still, and in second spinning like crazy.

Controlls aside this is a nice concept and well executed. I giggled a couple of times while reading the story :P

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Cool game.. Crashed when I died. I'm assuming it's a WINE error.. Anyways, it was a little interesting, the movement mechanic. Like someone said above, the ship is really spinny when trying to turn and such.

I'd also suggest a bigger view so you'd be able to react to meteors better. They're pretty hard to dodge when they're suddenly on screen. :P

Lastly, and yours wasn't the first, but when you package your game to send to others who are playing maybe name it something other than "LD34.zip". Kinda hard to keep track of all these games when they're all named the same. :P

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Really neat game with cool graphics. I was doing good until I smashed into a floating rock. Hilarious that the little spacesuited guy pops out with "I'm Okay". A couple of times the truck spun a heck of a lot more than intended, but I was using a VM to play and it may have been a keyboard read delay.
Good job!

Loneshark says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:52pm

This is a pretty solid entry. I loved the monologues the characters had and the style of the little portraits was a nice touch.

I know you skipped judgment for audio, but I could see this game being a lot more humorous with the right sounds.

Dayko says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Nice game ! I liked the effort put into the mission briefs :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]