Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GeometryTwo

by Gornova - Compo Entry

Hello everyone, I'm here to challenge you with my little entry for Ludum Dare 34.. GeometryTwo!

Game is really simple: you have to control a space station growing into space and fighting with enemies. You have the power to get smaller!

How many levels can you do ?

Controls:
- Left mouse click: attack
- Right mouse click: get smaller

Good luck! I'm glad for any feedback and in particular.. your maximum level :D


Note: game require Java installed on your system to run!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#438Theme3.79
#480Humor2.36
#481Audio2.63
#501Fun3.13
#503Mood2.93
#537Innovation3.08
#636Graphics2.82
#658Overall3.03

Comments

Gornova says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:31pm

My best run is to level five !

Jackson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Nice one man!

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42pm

That was fun. Good job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:54pm

I can't go any further than lvl 5!! Good job with this game :)

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Awesome!

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Very cool game :D

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Fun game, interesting take on invaders! The graphics were simple but attractive, and the sounds fitted the atmosphere and the graphics. It could use some 80's retro soundtrack though. The controls worked nicely. I died at level 4 or 5, but it wasn't really clear why since I didn't really get a chance to defend myself. Other than a bit of balancing the game was very nice :)

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:07pm

It's a fun game, but a little too hard at the beginning.
Good job!!

Zeriver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Pretty fun little game, it's kinda addicting.
My personal best is level 4, by the way game kinda loses tempo when you have to start over every time, maybe game could use some checkpint system?
Solid entry in every aspect

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Hard but fun. I would have liked some music, but the game itself was unique.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Foxtacy: I got to level three. I really enjoyed it. It's a very innovative concept for a survival, i like it :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Lots of fun! Nice job.

I agree that a checkpoint system would be an improvement, like starting over at the same level when you died instead of from the start - especially for Ludum Dare, something like that can be good to help more people see the whole game.

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:58am

An interesting concept. It would have been great to have non-pixelated scaling on the main ship as it grew. As others have said, it gets pretty difficult very quickly.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:59am

I can't get past than level 5, it's too hard. Nice idea, and pretty addictive.

ashdnazg says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:47pm

After two games I figured that the best way to play is clicking the two buttons together whenever you shoot.
This made the game significantly easier, and the right click irrelevant.

Good Use of sound effects!

Gornova says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:38pm

thanks all for good comments, I'm shocked of all this support!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]