Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

StarNinja vs SpaceHydra

by Linkigi - Compo Entry

GAMEPAD SUPPORTED (but keyboard works just as well)
Both Themes, '2 button controls' and 'growing'

Avoid, shoot and reflect bullets into the SpaceHydras 3 heads
Be careful because they will GROW BACK

Programming/ Engine - GML, GameMaker:Studio
Art - Paint
SFX - sfxr
Music - Garage Band (The music changes based on how powerful the hydra is)

-- Controls --
Use Z or up arrow to:
jump (hold)
double jump (double tap then hold)
(you hover for a bit when holding 'jump')

use X or spacebar to:
Shoot
reflect (when a bullet is in front of you)

Bullets move up ranks when they are reflected. Do not get in the way of a bullet that is a higher rank than you. Reflect anything else.

Hydra heads will reflect anything that is a lower rank than them too.


I strongly recommend that you read the 'HOW TO PLAY & CONTROLS' included with every copy!


Try and beat 1000 points
Comments and criticism are very welcome

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#228Audio3.20
#490Mood2.94
#559Overall3.14
#564Graphics2.95
#586Fun3.00
#610Theme3.57
#648Innovation2.86
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:46am

Nice simple style. Controls are interesting, kinda got the hang of them.

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44pm

I like the graphic style of the characters !

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Very good.Simple and funny and easy to play.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Fun! Took a while for me to get the reflect mechanic down, but other than that, no complaints! good work!

Rulrite says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57pm

A fun little game! It took me a while to get the hang of it, but you did a great job with the two-button controls.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:31pm

I was hoping to win the hydra, but the hydra beat me to it :p
Fun and well working game!

siege says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:09am

Pretty fun game! Double jumping is a little finicky.

Trizek35 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Nice idea, a bit hard but it works fine !

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:02am

Nice game :) The controls were really tricky and overall a bit too hard for my taste. I kind of rage quit. Maybe I'm just bad though.
I like the music/sound! 5/5

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:44pm

Enjoyed the game flow, it's very cool to shoot a hydra with a star (?)The double jump control is a little bit strange, but I guess it's because we are not used to that kind of double jump hahaha Good job ;)

radmars says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:28am

Nice! I really like this idea. The timing of the double jump and reflection are pretty hard to get the hang of though, so I found it pretty difficult. With some tweaking this could be really fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]