Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

rising bubble

by bitowl - Compo Entry

Some wild chemist created you in his last experiment. You are some kind of bubble. You seem to life in another dimension than the things around you so a different gravity affects you. You can rotate your screen to change gravity and move forward. Some may call you a "blobb". You have to merge with scattered matter to grow. Your way leads you from the laboratory flasks to world domination.

Controls:
Left/Right, A/D: rotate the screen
F11 (in menu): fullscreen
ESC: pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#230Fun3.51
#334Humor2.69
#345Overall3.40
#351Mood3.15
#355Theme3.88
#361Innovation3.35
#365Audio2.88
#590Graphics2.90

Comments

JD557 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Nice job. I had a lot of fun with this one.

I actually got to the end. I really liked the way theme of each level changes in order to give some sort of story.

I found the music a bit repetitive though.

krashja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36pm

I Really like this game, cool effects, nice music, fun and awesome! good work.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Very fun little entry that vaguely reminded me of Osmos in gameplay.
I agree with JD557 on the music though

Crosstales says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Like the Idea and the gameplay.
Nice Job its really funny

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:41pm

very clever game, simple but challenging and fun, nice job :)

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Great job! A simple game with good potential :) I was kinda lost at the end and music is a little repetitive (something more relaxing would do great with your game). But overall it's very nice!

zguerrero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Nice game! i finished it, the level design is good, not to hard, unlike many games

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44pm

This game was a lot of fun. I very much liked the progression through the levels. Music can get annoying after a while, but I didn't want to lose the sound effects. Maybe next time add a button to mute the music.

RadStar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:54am

nice gameplay! with better graphics/sound and proper level design, it could be a hit :)

rabbeni says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:55pm

really liked this one. Good job!

Diventurer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:13pm

This is definitely the best combination of the two themes that I have seen so far, even though you used 3 buttons, but I only needed the space key one time. I really enjoyed playing this game. At first, I thought it was decent - but when there were introduced new mechanics and even the outside world, it really made me appreciate this game. The graphics are simple but fitting and the audio really creates a great atmosphere. 5/5 mate. 5/5.

bitowl says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Uhh. I didn't even thought of the space key anymore. It's not part of the intended gameplay and just a leftover debug thing :D

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Cool entry! Congrats :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Nice job. I had a lot of fun with this one. Like the Idea and the gameplay. Maybe a little bit too hard, but well done ++

Dianouille says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:15pm

I can't play a lot because it make me sick, but it's good game. The controls are great, it's work well. Well done !

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Nice job, interesting mechanic with a good introduction. The music sounded like it was something for dracula's mansion, with the other SFX sounding quite high pitched and repetitive. Overall a good entry.

Blobo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Really amazing! i loved the art of the character! the puzzles were cool, and i love how they were implemented. well done.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:41pm

I enjoyed this. It was fun to move the guy around, and I loved how the background changed to suit the story. Double theme plus points. :).

Auroz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:24am

Fun mechanic, but the player felt a bit too floaty, which made controlling it frustrating after a while.

kmakai says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Fun! Reminds me a lot of LocoRoco, in a good way. I liked seeing bits of what was in the background as well. Nicely polished game, great job!

Efuvex says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:47am

Nice game. Thanks for pointing out the typo in our game link :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]