Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hearty's Quest

by LMT - Compo Entry

MUSIC IS RANDOMLY GENERATED USING CG MUSIC

Using the theme 'Two button controls'. Created for LD Compo, and about 20 working hours were spent on this game.

Play as 'Hearty' and use z to move and x to rotate. Hold z to wait a turn (enemies turn up around level 4). This is a puzzle-ish game, but not particularly difficult nonetheless.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#67Graphics4.15
#244Overall3.55
#405Mood3.06
#413Humor2.50
#463Fun3.17
#512Innovation3.12
#523Theme3.68
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

Gornova says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Nice and fun, cool graphics, good animations and nice music.
I like the style, not sure about theme (hearty collect gold stuff and avoid green monsters?).

And why heart can go in only one direction ?

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:48am

Cool use of the the theme, lovely music and graphics as well! :-)

ceosol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:08am

I really liked the game, but it seemed very slow. I know you were trying to maintain the theme by using two button controls, yet the having to constantly turn around seriously cut into the gameplay. I think it would have been better with mouse click as an automatic turner (i.e. making three spin moves instantly). That still would have been two buttons (Z and mouse).

Concept was great. The art really suited it well.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Very cute, fun to play game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/rQfOYGAIpM0

Melusine says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54pm

A cool game. Love the music

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:58pm

The animations and sound really makes this game come to life, great work!

shiny says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Creative graphics, great sounds and music. However I couldn't find the game fun enough. I caught on easily though, the controls and such.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Very nice, polished game. Well done.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Nicely presented, but it seems like you tried to compress four button controls down to two button for the sake of meeting the theme limitation and it suffers for it. I could see it working if there was some mechanic around constantly spinning on the spot, but here it just feels like a work-around.

Well done regardless. Strange that you took out the audio rating - I was gonna rate this a 4. As far as I'm aware using content generation tools is totally allowed and, hey, you had to pick this out of all the crap CG music usually comes out with, and set the instrumentation so you can still get credit for that!

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:24pm

@Cake_Catastrophe It appears you didn't play far enough into the game. On level four, when enemies appear, turning takes a move, so it actually participates with making the game and becomes a mechanic.

RadStar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Really nice game, I liked it instantly as it feel really polished!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Very smooth and well made game. Controls make the game a little slow at times, but make sense with the theme.

All in all great game!

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Since I tested the beta in IRC, I obiously had to test your game as well. It's still super cute, the animations and graphics are top notch :)
I feel though, that the theme brought a tough constrain to your game, for example I feel like the skip a turn should be a separate key ( and you might have already felt that way as well ). But I can understand the struggle, make it separate -> Fail theme and you can't just leave it out, since it's a core mechanic.

Good job though, I still liked it :)

dodormeur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Nice game well polished and good idea, but the movement and the gameplay are too rigid, so it's more laborious than fun..
Nice graphics and music though

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:36am

I really like this game, but I pressed the wrong key

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:03am

I'd made rotation with different button, maybe up arrow. I think, it would be easier to move. Also, if you face the edge tile, why does to allow to select outside grid? Beautiful game.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37pm

I love the minimalistic graphic style. Very interesting way to use two-button controls. Great game.

daandruff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Adorable game! Simple but brilliant :)

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Really like the polish of this game. Good work!

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Really fun game! It's just challenging enough, and the graphics and music are nice! I really enjoyed playing!

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07am

A fun and difficult puzzler that has been really thought out. It looks charming and the music is great. It's very difficult to play - or i'm just rubbish ;) Good Luck! Oh, and you could improve by tightening up the controls as it feels a bit slow.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Cute little puzzler. It progressed nicely and felt good overall.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Cool little puzzle game!

knason says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Really cute, I liked the music and graphics was nice. A nice and polished game! Well done!

shellbot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Really well done. Nice graphics and animation. The music is also enjoyable. The game felt a bit too slow paced for my liking however

Husky says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:38am

I love the aesthetic graphics! it's really cute.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Wow!
What a polished game! Great work!
The animation and the level design are very nice!

reheated says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Excellent puzzle design and it looks beautiful! A clever way to make the 2 button theme a really core part of the puzzle.

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:32pm

This game is pretty neat :D Cool graphics, everything is so well done! Congrats!

orion_black says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:43am

I can totally see how simply "fixing" the controls by allowing to move in whichever direction you want would break the game. At the same time, I also found the controls cumbersome and, at some points, got the feel that I was waiting instead of actively solving the puzzle(which wasn't the case).

If you were to build upon this I would suggest to allow four-way movement but having it "cost" turns instead(and showing it explicitly). So that for example moving up, when looking up costs you one turn, two when looking left, three when looking down and so on...

justinooncx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:22am

Pretty cool puzzle game with well thought out level design.

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:40pm

It's cute, but I don't think that 2 button controls in this type of game add any particular interest or unusual situation to gameplay. Mostly feels like it just cripples player's movement for no reason.

miwuc says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:09pm

I liked how being able to turn in only one direction actually makes the puzzles more difficult. The game was a bit boring at first, but later levels get more interesting. However, "skip turn" should be a separate button, so using long press to make it fit is kind of stretching the theme. Presentation is very good, solid entry.

axoona says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 5:40pm

this game is really complete and fun to play game.
I really like it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]