Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Metaforski!

by _stice - Compo Entry

A two-button game, written in plain javascript. Kind of a clunky linear version of Super Hexagon, with (unnecessary) metaphorical weight to things.

Just move the circular metaphor around, to avoid the rectangular metaphors. Use the left and right arrow keys, or the `a` and `d` keys. It gets pretty frantic, pretty fast.

Slow on firefox on ubuntu, for some reason. Font size may be too small (browser zoom-in works though). Code is messy as hell.

I'm on twitter: https://twitter.com/NitinMdsu It's my first time, so any feedback would be much appreciated! (But be gentle?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#237Humor2.92
#694Fun2.84
#781Theme3.29
#782Overall2.87
#809Mood2.33
#856Innovation2.38

Comments

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45am

Good enough for a first time :).

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Fun audiosurf style game. The random meanings/representation thing was funny. Theres no chance im getting 60second, its way too fast for me :P

rplnt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Really hard. I like it!

grama says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:53pm

quite difficult, but it works fine. congrats on the entry! btw, maybe the progression could be a bit smoother? i think adding tweens would be pretty cool too.

guigrillo13 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:54pm

hahaha cool and simple game!!
Well done man

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:54pm

You get a GitHub star for using GitHub. ;P

Also, this is game looked like pure JavaScript! No Phaser or ImpactJS! Well done!

Reminded me of Radical on iOS/Android for a bit. I really liked the randomly-generated keywords.

_stice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:55pm

@RadMcCool: I can barely breach 30 myself. I have a friend who did 97 and showed me a screenshot, though. My mind was blown.

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Haha! just use your imagination and the rectangles become fungal cheese and the circle a bacteria and the score is how much disgusting this all is! etc... It's always very funny to start a new game, great idea!
Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20pm

nice, simple but challenging

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27pm

By jove, this game is pretty difficult, seeing as how little time you have to react to the blue blocks...

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Nice, simple little game. Definitely not bad for a first time!

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:54pm

The game itself was not so interesting for me - I died fast and hard over and over again. But the text made it all worth it. I am a sucker for metaphorical weight.

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24pm

hard as hell with that zig-zag pattern

lordsavage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56pm

A very solid little game, well done mate. I only reached a personal best of 20 - i apologize for my noobness....

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Congrats on your first LD ! Nice entry !

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Simple, but it seems to be working quite well (even though I can't get very far)

marod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Simple and great game!

tanjent says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:09pm

13 !!! But that was only because the first 5 seconds? where almost white space :) It needs about two rows more of preview to give you a bit of extra planning.

_stice says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:49am

@everyone: thanks for playing, and for your feedback!

@tanjent: I did consider making it easier, but my friends responded well to the frustrating difficulty. One of them got to 97 seconds (!). So i decided to just leave it like this. (Also, it's fun for me this way :P I only got to 41.)

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Simple but effective. The randomly picked explanations at the start were amusing.

A possible suggestion would to be to have the player at the bottom of the screen rather than the middle so you have a bit more time to process what's coming up. That might reduce the difficulty level you were going for though. :)

A nice little Audiosurf-alike though, good job.

_stice says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:22am

@Calciumtrice: Or designed the game better to make the difficulty flexible, to avoid this issue in the first place :)

Thanks for the feedback!

loxo says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:24pm

I like the changing game description, it's an interesting idea. The game itself is pretty hard. It takes a while to find out when exactly to press the keys. Some sound effects would be create.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]