Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Tower of the Tiny Wizard

by lucentbeam - Jam Entry

Story--

The Tiny Wizard has cast a spell to make the entire world (except for people) grow! His ultimate aim is to make all of mankind suffer as he has. You, brave knight, have set out to stop him! Collect growth potions to keep up to scale with his army of skeletons and make your way to the top of the tower.


Keyboard Controls--

Arrow keys - move
Z key - quaff potion, makes you grow. collect more from barrels
X key (+ arrow keys) - dash, passes through and stuns enemies
C key - basic attack, does damage relative to your size versus enemies'


Credits--

Programmed in JavaScript with the Phaser Library:
http://www.phaser.io/

Art by Lucid Design Art at OpenGameArt.org:
http://opengameart.org/content/roguelite
http://luciddesign.tk

Music by BBandRage at OpenGameArt.org
http://opengameart.org/content/strange-dungeon-theme


Notes--

I put up a post jam build to add WASD controls and Gamepad support, but it's listed as a second package on Gamejolt. If the cursor controls are frustrating, you can give it a go.

The performance can be bad for some - I've heard that switching from Chrome to Firefox can make a big difference, if you happen to have it. Otherwise, sorry about that!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#271Innovation(Jam)3.47
#427Fun(Jam)3.25
#428Theme(Jam)3.77
#476Mood(Jam)3.26
#584Overall(Jam)3.25

Comments

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:19am

An extremely competent game. It looks pretty and works well. I would say that the combat is a bit slow and un-reactive. Good Luck!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:40am

Very nice graphics. The constant zooming in of the dungeon was irritating as I didn't know at first that I could use potions to grow again because on my German keyboard Z and Y are swapped.
After figuring that out it was definitely more fun, but then I entered Level 2 with almost no health left and it didn't refill that after dying so I wasn't able to advance.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48am

Oh shoot, and here I thought using cursors (over WASD) would be nicer to Europeans... Would X/C/V be a better key combination for the left hand?

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Felt like Alice in Wonderland. Except I was freckin'g skeletonsmashin' knight :)
Also, I think that maybe discrete steps in gowing up and down could make your game feel less wobbly.
P.S. This is a solid entry and needs more promotion :)

sonelliot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:46am

Nice idea and it feels polished. I agree that the combat is a bit fiddly. Also, the constant zooming out effect made me feel a bit weesy after a while. I would change that so that there is a countdown bar and then the world size tweens out to be incrementally larger.

kmakai says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:14pm

This was a really interesting idea, I like it a lot! I definitely agree with the comment above about having the size increment in steps, rather than continuously, it might help with performance as well (less scaling of textures each frame.) Good job!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:45pm

The good:
-Great level design
-Difficult but not too punishing
-Smart choices with the theme
-fun

The bad:
-not terribly innovative

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Nice idea with changing the size of player/world. Would be nice to have some other things hidden in those barrels. The game is running a bit slow for me (Chrome).

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Nice concept, and the game looks nice too! I had some issues with the combat - everything became slow when I reached the skeletons and attacks were delayed - so it was hard to fight properly!

uthamon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Great idea for the theme. You implemented this innovative mechanics into known formula and the result is that it's hella fun game. Congrats!

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:11pm

I'm having performance troubles to run this game! It start well but after some time it start to lag so much...

psychonull says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Nice game. Great graphics and really cool music. Congrats!!

Jerre says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:27pm

nice graphics, I liked the zooming, it gives a constant feeling of hurry. Game play not very responsive/flowing, but well done!

lurils says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:18pm

it's a good game, but the constant slow change made me a bit motion sick...

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:13am

Well done. I liked the twist where the level grew. Loved the music. Has a Gauntlet feeling. Solid entry.

Larzan says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Great take on the theme

Krafty says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:26am

This is a cool game! I was kind of confused at first but I liked it :) Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]