Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

BallBall Babbaballoo!

by Spencer Alves - Compo Entry

Use left and right (or A and D) to move the ball back and forth. Press both at the same time to speed up. Dodge obstacles, and go for a high score!

If you're having issues with the HTML5 player, you can also try the legacy Unity Web Player: http://www.boatcake.net/media/ld34/web/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#167Fun3.62
#258Audio3.12
#377Overall3.36
#384Mood3.09
#470Humor2.38
#490Theme3.72
#551Graphics2.97
#594Innovation2.97

Comments

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:28am

Like the game but am very bad at it. How many levels are there? I can't get past the start of level 4.

Spencer Alves says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

Sorry, I didn't mention that anywhere. There are only 4 levels, after level 4 ends it just starts generating random blocks.

dekart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:34am

Very well done game concept, I like it a lot. Simple, but challenging, very interesting to progress.

Few notes:
* it would be great if the ball would be always visible within the viewport. It goes out of my vision when I put it too far to the left or right.
* it would provide much better hit feedback if the block I've hit would fall apart or throw out some sparkles
* yellow text isn't well visible on top of the white sky, a black border around text or a shadow would be great

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10am

nice job! the obstacles are well designed- would probably be more fun with a dedicated speed button, but you did a nice job of working it into the theme.

SoulBound says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:11am

I really enjoyed playing this game! I really loved the speeding up mechanics. One thing I would recommend would be to have the timer speed up relative to the player. That way you can compete with friends without some of them going really slow. Overall, a really fun game that I'm probably going to be playing for the next few hours. :)

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Liked the game, but it got too hard too quickly at level 3, good idea though.

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:28pm

This game is fun. Clever way to get speed using the directional keys. It is hard, too. The good kind of hard.

dos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11am

2 minutes! Great music and fun little gameplay, I'm digging it!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:18am

This is great! It's a really satisfying challenge to control the ball around the obstacles, given that your control over it differs along each of the 3 axes in a way that is totally natural.

The only thing I would look into is the fact that players are very likely to momentarily hold both the left and right buttons when they're changing directions -- the current result is an awkward staggering of the camera. Adding a longer wait time before the ball speeds up when you hold both buttons might help.

Anyway, great job!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:53am

I got to 2:08 -- how many levels are there? There seems to be fullscreen spam of obstacles somewhere late in level 3-4.

It would be nice to be able to beat it. :P

The game seems cool, but I was bad at it. I think one thing that makes it confusing is that the shadow is diagonal because of the light source. So, it's hard to judge what vertical line you are actually on. Maybe some sort of highlight on the ground could help with this.

Two, the block hitboxes are big, but the extra life hitboxes are VERY small. I was carefully trying to him them and I kept missing them. :P

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Neat concept, but there is some room for improvement.
When I press both buttons the ball floats to one side, it doesn't go straight. And some holes are impossible to get trough, because the ball is the exact same size.
Well done!

wooltech says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:58am

Works well, but is a pretty tricky on level four!

Sometimes pressing both buttons to speed up would send you moving left or right too if not pressed exactly right, which hurled me to my death a few times! Maybe that's just me being bad at it though.

Hectigo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Fun gameplay, and especially the unusual style of the music makes the game feel fresh.

cubicme says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:38am

great game, fun to play just needs a little camera and control tweak

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Not bad for an endless runner, the music gave it a relaxing tone, and I liked the design of the obstacles as ones you couldn't avoid so easily.

XenosNS says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Decent. Would of preferred if the shadows lined up more under the spaces to gauge where I was.

Loneshark says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:25pm

For the HTML5 player I found out that with a gamepad I can make the ball go in reverse by moving with the left directional axis! Unfortunately the velocity is static so eventually the ball's positive velocity will override it and force it to go forward (albeit at a slower pace).

Left (A) didn't seem to do much as the ball clung to the left wall the whole time, but I found it an entertaining concept to only be able to accelerate or move to the other wall.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Good game idea! I like how you can control the speed, but still have a minimum speed, so you are constantly under pressure.

The difficulty curve is quite tough, but that can be good.

samreid says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:44am

Nice game, I made it to level 4. Very solid entry, with gameplay, graphics, etc. Nice work!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Like the game but am very bad at it. I dislike jazz ++

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]