Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Choppy Crop

by komjaur - Jam Entry

Choppy chop is farming game, where you have to farm to make money.
Main goal is to get 500 coins as fast as possible by selling crops.

To sell crops you need to gather them with GATHERING BAG and sell them to marketman.

Controls:LEFT ARROW,RIGHT ARROW,Waiting

Music:Bensound.com
Have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#26Theme(Jam)4.40
#254Innovation(Jam)3.50
#304Humor(Jam)3.04
#435Overall(Jam)3.40
#466Audio(Jam)3.11
#525Mood(Jam)3.20
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#668Graphics(Jam)3.15

Comments

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33am

great use of timers to get around the two button limitation

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Impressive entry. As Ariake81 said, very good use of timers to expand your options, and allow you to use both themes.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48pm

The timers are a nice touch, sticking to the 2-button theme strictly. I didn't get very far with my crops but I tried. Nice one.

_stice says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Good idea for the two button controls! (Also, nice game name!)

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51pm

While the growing part interpretation of the theme is easy, the realization, while also respecting the two button theme, is inventive. Nicely done !

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55pm

I like this a lot. The timers are smart too.

dodormeur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Really nice, it takes a bit of time to get used to the controls and menu navigation, but the time challenge is stimulating :)

klianc09 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Nice graphics, and the music is very fitting.
It's really tiresome selecting everything with two buttons and waiting... also I didn't understand how I could get new seeds. I'll probably never be a farmer.

lordsavage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Wow, you seriously managed to make a resource management game with just two buttons, a neat idea made really well.

Very good work.

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17pm

The control scheme is very clever, nice job! The farming system is also pretty intuitive, the in-game messages were pretty useful to teach how to play (on top of being funny).

It was fun trying to figure out how to manage my crops efficiently, but either I'm bad at it or there are a few balancing issues - I gave up after 15mn and 260 crops. The main problem to me is that half-grown crops sometimes produce 1 crop only in return, meaning I have planted them in vain.

Now you had me playing for 15mn so I can't deny it, overall the game was fun :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Yeah, this was great and very creative, very innovative play with the theme restrictions. Well done!

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:05pm

I had fun playing your game!! Music was annoying after 5 min but the 2 controls system was really nicely done! I would just change the fact that when you change a tool you automatically exit! And also add a tutorial!

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:46pm

I really enjoyed it! Very good implementation of the 2 buttons.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Smart thing with the timers, but a lot of waiting involved in this game.

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:50pm

great keeping with the theme!
fun gameplay but quite hard

davesoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Great concept and I love the little details in the names. The house was awkward to operate, but that's the point of the control style. Nicely done :)

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:54pm

5/5 theme .Clever use of the timer ! Well done. Cute art, too

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:56pm

nice work. automatically switching to the seed bag or the grab bag is confusing. also i expected watering plants to take one charge from the watering can. maybe effects and numbers popping up could make those things more clear

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Great use of controls, followed both themes and pretty good gameplay, but I seem to have ran out of seeds and can't acquire more, not sure if that's my fault or something else.

denycetm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:27pm

good use of contextual controls. I would have loved some mechanic to buy bigger watering cans.Hold more feed. etc. Just some way so I could start balancing multiple states for the crops. Also would have liked to see some easing in the transitions between the steps. One really great mechanic is that the dead plants yield seeds which means you have to decide how much of your crop to use for replanting.

Forgive the pun but this entry has the seeds of a great idea.

Tackwin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Nice use of timers, pretty innovative.

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:38am

Like others said: great job with the theme and the two-button controls.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:33am

It was hardly to find how to grow seed from the start. But when you get it game gets interesting for playing. Good work

tobia88 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:59am

This game is my favourite so far in ld34. Wow,you are so smart.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:49pm

The gameplay is very innovative, how others said, the use of timers is a great idea to use the two buttons control theme :-) Nice entry!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Tried to download the Windows version. Got stuck with one of those stupid "Your computer has a virus, call this number to get us to remove it." scam bull crap. Looks like a fun game though.

richardboegli says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:59am

Couldn't play web version:

Warning: include_once(/data02/virt44945/domeenid/www.anweb.ee/htdocs/pluginad/visitcounter.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /data02/virt44945/domeenid/www.anweb.ee/oliver/games/dare34/index.php on line 2

Warning: include_once(): Failed opening '/data02/virt44945/domeenid/www.anweb.ee/htdocs/pluginad/visitcounter.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/zone/lib/php') in /data02/virt44945/domeenid/www.anweb.ee/oliver/games/dare34/index.php on line 2

Fatal error: Call to undefined function track() in /data02/virt44945/domeenid/www.anweb.ee/oliver/games/dare34/index.php on line 3

komjaur says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:31pm

@Richardboegli
I accidentally deleted all my databases :S
and it should work fine right now.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]