Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

CLASH!

by Andrei - Jam Entry

[12/16] The embedded version requires WebGL-compatible browser. If you have problems loading it, please try one of the Webplayer versions.

CLASH! is a two players fighting game that focus on simple but precise movements.
We explored the different movement possibilities using only two buttons for each player (see in-game "How to play").
Precision is needed to get the best interactions using these movements (see guide below).
Player 1 plays as the Hero (first person fighter), Player 2 as the Enemy (the guy in front). As it is right now, you need two humans, you can't play against the computer.

---

GUIDE

[The game is not finished as we wanted. There are some key interactions missing and small mistakes :(]
You will notice black text messages in the bottom center and top center of the screen. The bottom one is for the Player 1, the above one is for Player 2. It tells you the interaction (the result) of your movements.

The possibilities are:

HIT - you hit, full damage.
CLASH! - both players' movement clashed, no damage.
CRITICAL HIT - you got your opponent off guard, double damage.
Hit partially - you hit, but your opponent was defending or also attacking with a weaker movement - half damage.
STUNNED - you got stunned. 1s stunned, if you got hit, it deals double damage.
Blocked - your attack is blocked by opponent's defense or stronger attack.

[not fully working possibilites]
BREAK HIT - you hit your opponent while it was preparing a movement, you hit and stopped its movement.
Dodged - your opponent dodges your attack, no damage (working). You become unbalanced for attacking into nothing. 1s off guard, can't move. If you got hit, it deals double damage.
Countered - your opponent's movement counters yours, 1s off guard.

---

Future plans:
- implement all planned interactions (sorry for that)
- balance
- more characters
- sound, sfx
- split screen (for two players)
- "vs computer" mode
- mobile if you guys like it :P

---

Inspirations:
- Those old boxing toys where you press two buttons to punch your opponent
- Super Punch Out!
- Aquaplay (another old two buttons toy)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#737Innovation(Jam)2.80
#743Theme(Jam)3.40
#759Humor(Jam)2.14
#877Graphics(Jam)2.64
#959Mood(Jam)2.35
#976Overall(Jam)2.72
#985Fun(Jam)2.44
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:14am

Fun idea. It sounds like you could have used a few helpers to get some of those future plans done in time.

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Hmm.. I just killed the opponent while he did nothing? Then I read through explanations and realized that you guys had some troubles to finish the game on time. Well, it happens to all of us. Even I didn't finish the game as I wanted. Until next time then! :) cheers.

Darkhaul says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Just played around with the controls on my own because i didnt have anyone to play with but it seems like a cool idea. doesn't feel particularly responsive... but the idea is there and it all seems to work properly, nice game really

Reinoso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53pm

The idea is good, one of the only games so far made for two players, so I need to register! But the game really in my view depend on someone else to get fun ..... good, good work of any form.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21pm

it`s not loaded, unfortunately

FrederickK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Forever alone guy here :\
The idea of making a "rock, paper, scissor" like combat game is interesting, however, the animation is very slow, giving the impression that they are unresponsive
If it were quicker and the players had less HP would be way better, also, a way to go back to menu would be nice
Nice job guys!

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:12am

Still loading... :(

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:10am

I will come back to play this tomorrow when my roommate is awake. ;)

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:36am

I'd have loved to have someone to play this with but I'm lonely like that so I played against myself (not to brag, but I won). I'd love to see online multiplayer or a CPU player in the future.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:37am

Can't play it

Andrei says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:41am

Thanks everyone who are submitting commentaries!

For those having problems loading the game, please tell me if you have tried both versions. The embedded version is the WebGL one, and it is the one more likely to be problematic because of your browser or OS+hardware combination. The Webplayer version usually works for everyone, except Chrome users.

For those playing alone. Yeah, the game is totally two players dependant right now. You will be able to try out the mechanic, but the fun comes with a second human player.

davidB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Hard to manage x1, x2, x3 (unity player on OSX).
Not finished but playable, I did the same choice MVP.

kezhaar says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Did not load for me either

mockthebear says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Well, its a good idea, but the animations was a bit unpolished.
One of the problem about two players game in ludum dare, it find another player at the same time.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]