Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Aquila

by aprotasenya - Jam Entry

Live the life of the mighty Aquila, the King of All Eagles!.. well, or just the largest of them. Chill high in the sky or blaze right above the ground.

1) Hold Left key/mouse-button to fold the left wing. Release to flap.
2) Hold Right key/mouse-button to fold the right wing. Release to flap.

Use Left+Right to:
- climb higher
- soar
- steer
- drop

And basically just enjoy the view and yourself.

This was made by the SixGoJams team.
SixGoJams this time was: @GerodruS, @freakyzelga, @aprotasenya, @coauctor.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Mood(Jam)3.89
#107Audio(Jam)3.83
#191Theme(Jam)4.05
#205Innovation(Jam)3.58
#315Overall(Jam)3.53
#464Fun(Jam)3.21
#509Graphics(Jam)3.47
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:20am

kind of neat - always wanted to make a game like this - well done

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:09am

Era of walking simulator games is over. Behold the era of flying simulator games :o)

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:20am

Nice music and atmoshpere)

hiki911 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:55pm

nice meditative expirience

sonelliot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:21am

Very calming. Would be nice to have some win conditions though, like hunting for food or some such. I think it would be cool to put the Eagle's shadow on the ground. So you can see where it is relative to objects below.

suppi says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:36am

pretty cool experience. wish there were more to it in terms of gameplay :)

vedmich says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:52am

Cool concept and interesting experience!

It would be awesome to watch some life flourishing in the world and some ways to influence it.

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Молодцы, клевая идея. Привет из Минска

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]