Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Winterland

by Zknet - Jam Entry

Theme: Two-button controls

Winterland is a short game where you control a polar bear cub and her mom through a dangerous ravine. It just so happens that these particular polar bears have rockets on their backs! Have both bears dodge obstacles by moving left and right (A/D and J/K for the cub and mom respectively).

Play it one player (two controls each bear.. keep them together for easier play) or play with a friend! It was designed for one player to control both bears.

Enjoy!

Running the game:
Unzip and run StartGame.bat.
If you are Windows and it complains about missing prerequisites, run the UE4PrereqSetup_x86.exe file. This installs DirectX prerequisites.

Behind-the-scenes:
Art, music, programming done by http://twitter.com/zknet. Story, idea and main menu UI done by my wife. This was my first go at completing something in Unreal Engine, so it was a great learning experience. Per the usual, we didn't do nearly as much as we would've liked, but that's the nature of these things.

I will be attempting to publish a Linux version as well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#191Graphics(Jam)4.05
#361Humor(Jam)2.91
#380Fun(Jam)3.32
#384Overall(Jam)3.45
#451Mood(Jam)3.29
#513Audio(Jam)3.00
#631Innovation(Jam)2.97
#731Theme(Jam)3.42

Comments

juaxix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Soft, clean, wonder

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:19am

Simple but a lot of fun

antonuklein says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:50am

Simple and clean, although it's hard to see where you're going in 2560x1080 res.

Zknet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54am

Thanks for the feedback. I'll check the higher resolution.

Xinelu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54am

i wish i could give more then 5 stars!!!
Beautiful

gkxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:56am

The camera changing angles was a bit disorienting at first. I would have liked just a single player mode, since having to control both is confusing at times.

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02am

Wow I wish my pitiful laptop could handle this game! It's really a very pretty thing to see. I love your interpretation of the theme as well.

SpiritJZL says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:07am

Nice game, but I have to say I use 4 buttons to control...

BudaDude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08am

Love the idea, especially the rockets. I feel like this would be waaaaaay more fun if I had someone to play it with as a two player game but there's lots of fun to be had with the challenge

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11am

Pro:
+ Nice and clean
+ Simple and neat
Con:
- The curves confused me to where I should go, but then I just got use to it
Obs:
o Played alone, a bit confusing but managed to play

Great work!

ErinMcBride says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:23am

It's so pretty! I like how the ravine curves; it's a nice twist on this genre of game.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:25am

Wonderful! I love the concept, the low-poly and monochromatic graphics, and it's fun and interesting to play two characters at once, especially mother and cub. Excellent!

vahab says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:27am

very cool! very fun!

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Simple, but a bit too hard with only one player. I think you should either take out the second bear or do something else when it isn't coop. Other than that, thumbs up :)

fpwong says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:20am

Overall style is really nice, lacking a bit in the single player game play.

iantttianttt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:53am

I like simple
Unfortunately, I uncoordinated hand-eye
lol

rjhelms says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:16am

Love the premise. This is really challenging.

It'd be nice to have a counter of how far you've gone, so I could more easily compare runs and work towards getting as far as possible.

Zknet says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:59pm

A counter/scoring system is definitely something I wanted to get in there. I thought about sneaking it in there at the end, but I didn't want to risk breaking everything. :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:20am

This was a very neat game! I love the art and the simple play style. I felt so bad every time the polar bears would hit something. Poor baby polar bear just didn't want to stay close to it's mom ... :P

It was a bit challenging to control four keys but it wasn't too bad.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:50am

Cool game. I wish the UI was soft as well to match the aesthetic of the level and the bears.

teeth says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:20am

This was so cute! Bookmarking it for "stuff to play when I have a friend over". It was confusing at first when bends came up though, I wasn't sure if I had to move to go around the corners or not. Maybe some kind of visual indicator that the polar bears follow an overall path?

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:53pm

Collision detection's a bit off, but it's a fun idea and controlling both bears at the same time is a challenge!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]