Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Star Jumper

by Linear - Jam Entry

IMPORTANT: THE DOWNLOAD LINKS DON'T WORK BECAUSE THIS SITE IS BEING DUMB. HERE IS THE LINK:

https://mega.nz/#!z94jGQZK!OESQfIzzf5yPfOwaaA6f1maWqrDcrEmbtfOaWUebF4U



As you navigate the stars, looking for buried treasure hidden on little asteroids, you find yourself at a disadvantage. The treasures have been deviously hidden behind puzzles and protected by guardians. Can you find helpful items, navigate the starscape, solve the puzzles, and return home a rich man?

Controls

Besides WASD and Space, you only have two buttons you can use.

Press Q - Toggle through your current inventory.
Hold Q - Throw your currently selected item at enemies.

Press E in front of an item - Pick up an item.
Press E - Use the currently selected item.
Hold E - BLAST OFF INTO SPACE

To blast off, hold E, then look up at the sky and
select which planet you want to visit!


---

The game is rather unfinished.

Currently there are some known bugs. The mouse doesn't get released when you hit escape, so you have to do some crazy combination of Windows key, click, and enter to actually use the menu.

Our goblets don't work =(
So essentially, there's no win condition.

But yeah, explore planets, look around, take in the crappy art. Everything, including textures, models, sounds, etc, all done from scratch. All textures started as photographs we took during the competition, or else were just some nonsense GIMP generated for us with its filter effects.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#785Graphics(Jam)2.88
#885Innovation(Jam)2.53
#1024Fun(Jam)2.33
#1073Overall(Jam)2.47
#1084Theme(Jam)2.20
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

Outbreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49am

No Links >.>

Linear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Please read description. The link is there, but it doesn't render on the page because the URL has a '#' in it. Or something. For whatever reason, links to mega.nz just don't work on here.

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Nice 3d graphics, very cool the way you can explore!! Cool game

intXparts says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:43pm

I like the impaired view, it feels almost like a space horror game. I also like how you drop the player in from the sky, as if the player is being left on this hostile rock for evil deeds. Nice job!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:20am

I had a lot of problem playing to the game because I have an azerty keybord. I was able to remap keys but then could not use Q because it's not in remap list. Then when I found objects, I could not interract with E for some reason. ( Even if not remaped ) I still like the look of the world it really made me want to explore it more.

astrophics says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Not that I didn't find the link, but the file was "corrupted" every time I tried to download it

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:34pm

no link, unfortunately (

Linear says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Reuploaded to Google Drive. It should show a link now. Mega links still don't work for whatever reason.

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:27pm

Can't play windows games.

Alphish says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:38pm

I've been assaulted by angry integrated circuits! D:
Also, the game is quite pretty, but it seems to have no music, and I couldn't really figure out what to do. I managed to open some sort of gate and cross it quickly before it closed, then fell into a spike pit by falling through grating (bug, I guess?). I liked the red cosmos background, though.

YinYin says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:07am

Mouse buttons would've been a better choice to Q and E

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:50am

I'm just not really feeling the theme here.

radmars says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:55am

Interesting concept but there's so many ways to get stuck or die that it's a bit frustrating, plus I was hard pressed to find much of anything to interact with. A bit more guidance & less danger would probably help. Still, the idea of jumping between planets to solve puzzles is really cool, nice job!

MercuryXGames says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:58am

cool game! :D loved it. in 3D too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]