Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ball Crusher From Neptune

by Stending - Jam Entry

\*IMPORTANT*/
Prefer the windows version, the web version is having collision bugs I didn't manage to fix yet

-----------

Simple arcade game made in 10 hours because of big exams this week..
You control the little purple ball, and you try to protect the planet from explosion.

-----------
Space to start, Left/Right or A/D or Left Click/Right Click to move the ball (not the planet).
M to adjust volume
-----------
We tried to respect both of the themes.
It was really short to do and I wasn't really in a great mood, but the result looks pretty cool !

-----------

Game by Stending
Music by F3LIZ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#71Theme(Jam)4.26
#94Fun(Jam)3.79
#154Audio(Jam)3.70
#174Overall(Jam)3.72
#175Innovation(Jam)3.63
#200Mood(Jam)3.63
#575Graphics(Jam)3.33
#651Humor(Jam)2.40

Comments

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Why does this have no comment/reviews yet?? This has some of the best music of this LD. I loved the concept, though it's a bit hard to master the rotation speed when the light suddenly pops on another side and you have to rotate really fast. Also the controls seemed backwards for me, it would be nice to have the option to switch them. Graphics were simple but effective and smooth. I thought this was a great game!

Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Nice entry. I only have some problems with motion sickness from the background. The game is simple, but effective.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:51pm

@karlipoppins Because Stending needs to rate more games.

Loved the music. Rotation controls felt backward to me and kept tripping me up, a reverse option would be nice! :)

Stending says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Thanks for the feedbacks!
For the controls, you have to know that you're moving the ball, not the planet/world! When you get that, it feels better :)

ansoneh says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:35pm

The concept is really interesting/unique. I like it!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:38pm

My best score is 8 I think you could add easy high bounce for first 1-4 points for a warmup.

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Nice game, but too hard for me, my best score is only 7 :'(

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:55pm

This is cool! It's really hard, and I started to get motion sickness from the rotation, but I like it. Kinda want to see a video of you playing, though, 'cause your screenshots show a point in the game and a level of mastery I'm quite positive I'll never be able to reach. Seems like it'd be a fun game to watch an expert play. Anyways, nice job!

phi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Your game is actually very catchy! The controls were hard at the beginning but it got easier with time.
Also the music is really great! Great job! :)

Aaranos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:56pm

The music is really good and I'd like to say more about the game but I honestly don't know how to actually play. I move left or right and try to align the ball with the line but sometimes it bounces, sometimes it doesn't.

Geck0 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Nice game! My score is 13 but I had to "change" the buttons, A/D with the other hand haha, I don't know why, but I need the inverse controls xD

GGraca says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:58pm

I love these games that explore a single mechanic. Nice job! Gona keep playing

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:37am

Well done squeezing the both themes in there! This is a money make on the mobile market my friend :)

cimbaman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:23pm

At first I was like: "Why are controls inverted?!", but then I got that you are the ball and not the light thing.
Very good game. Music is so mystic and awesome. :)

Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Interesting. The dash really saves the day. The normal movement took too long to accelerate and decelerate thus making difficult for accurate movement.

XenosNS says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:33am

Very impressive! Liked the concept, challenging.

Gjarble says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:41am

Nice! I like the minimalist feel, and I can definitely see this becoming addictive. I also like how both themes are mechanically important. And yes, the music is great, too.

I do have one quibble with the controls. I don't know if this is intentional or not, but when I tap one direction then quickly tap the other, the ball dashes. This is not expected behavior for me- I'd rather the ball dash only when I tap the same direction twice, rather than risk accidentally dashing when I change my mind about which direction I want to move.

It would also be nice to have some visual and sound effects to reinforce events like bouncing off the light beam, the appearance of a new light beam, and crashing into the planet (in other words, to be more "juicy", if you're familiar with that as a game dev term). Effects like that can subtly make these events more satisfying to the player. But overall, great job, especially considering you did this in just 10 hours.

pixzleone says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Really cool! Good work.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Really sweet, and very addicting... thanks for the awesome game.

Starspell says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:22pm

I cannot get past 12 no matter how hard I try! This game is great! It's so simple and so easy to play and yet so challenging!
I love the music, the graphics, the movement, the little touches like having your previous highscore remain on the planet and the overall text positioning and style.
I have no idea how you managed to get to 71(!) even though you are the developer!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:24pm

[1] 2190 abort (core dumped) ./BCFN.x86

Kerdelos says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Nice to see something original with circles and two buttons controls. The game is fun to play but the dash may be too sensitive sometimes ( at least from my point of view ;D )

Dayko says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Really fun! A very good example of simple to learn, hard to master. The second ray (and multiple others with a bigger score it seems) is great to add variety and ease out the difficulty. I was quite happy with my score of 20... until I saw your screenshot with a highscore of 108 :D.
Strangely enough, I found it easier to control with the mouse than with keyboard. With a bit more tweaking on speed and controls, you could have something quite awesome there :)

Eingya says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:46am

Good job!

Love how the difficulty scales diegetically

only note: when you click right then left it counts as a double click, and i feel it shouldn't (not sure if a bug or a design decision)

cilerba says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Great game! I loved every bit of this.

Muel says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Whoa, this is hardcore!

I like the fact that the game is hard, but not punitive. You have to land on the light bean, but not thaaaat precisely on in, so it's not impossible even when you dash to the spot.

radmars says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:21am

Nice! Great use of the themes here. Very fun too. I think my only issue is that the controls are a little touchy, like until I got the hang of it I would accidentally dash or fail to dash when I wanted to. (theme might be working against you here control-wise!) At first I was thinking some sort of leading indicator of where the next light appears would be good, though as I got better my want for this slowly disappeared :) My high score was 31. Great music too. Awesome work! :D

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Brutally, unforgivingly hard! I think this is the most fun entry I've played so far, and the only one I had to repeatedly tell myself to stop playing so I could rate it. It's crazy addictive trying to beat my high score, and I'm sure I'll keep coming back to this after the jam to wrestle with it.

I only have two minor criticisms: first, some of the graphics are weirdly aliased, and don't look as smooth as they could, particularly the light target things. Second, some sound effects would be a nice addition to the music.

Aside from that, it's just awesome. My best score currently is only 17, but I'll keep trying for a better one.

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Also, I second both that this is a great potential mobile port, and that I'd love to see a video of someone really good playing this game.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:47pm

simple but very addictive! very well done!

Null DIES says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:09pm

My highscore was 14 :D

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:55pm

Really nice audio and fun gameplay!
I got up to a score of 10, but then I started to get motion sickness. :c

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]