Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Baddie

by oxysoft - Compo Entry

Only a fragment of my initial idea, but I'm happy with what it is even though the gameplay is pretty weak

Instructions:
Press the keys on your keyboard that correspond the letters you see in your 2-letter selector thing. If you start from the left, the selector will shift to the right, and if you start from the right, it will shift to the left. (left-to-right/right-to-left)

Letters with sparkles are worth more and will apply more damage.

(originally, the idea was that the game should be fast-paced but also way more methodical than it is right now, like you'd would try to actually reach the special letters as fast as possible or something, and you would try to strategize, etc. And it wasn't a space monster but a cave monster that would be hidden way far in the back at first and would crawl to you slowly)

Credits:
Play_phaser: Phaser port in Dart
Genny Beta: VST for YM2612/SN76489 emulation

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#212Graphics3.66
#222Audio3.21
#298Mood3.25
#323Humor2.72
#456Innovation3.19
#658Overall3.03
#694Fun2.84
#818Theme3.22

Comments

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:33am

Creepy monster, not a bad little typing-reaction game.

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Cool, idea for a typing game. I enjoyed it, good job!

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10pm

I liked this a lot. The art is fantastic, love the typing element. Only problem is I got a fatal main.dart error after killing the first thing.. game froze, couldn't continue. :( Still, really nice

oxysoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Unfortunately, there is indeed a crash that happens most of the time after killing the monster; And it only happens when deploying to production... It's something to do with sound and I think it might occur when trying to play the victory jingle (which is a damn shame because it sounds pretty cool, almost Metroid-ish)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Nice monster and music! Score was 56.

Tyler says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Interesting typing game! Could be made into something a lot deeper, but with only 2 buttons I think it's great! Just needs more stuff to become better.

pparke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Nice take on the theme, good way to use more than two buttons without using more than two buttons. The effects were well done.

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:11am

Nice monster and nice typing-reaction game! I liked the use of two letters at a time with the theme

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Creepy, but well made. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BarqoQ2BpLQ

garygreen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:29pm

That was quirky and creepy. Nice art too.

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:44am

Good job. Great space monster graphics and sounds.

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Man, this game made me realise that I suck at typing.
But, that was a fun expirience anymay :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:02am

cool typing game, cool take on the theme, but I wish the monster attacked and the player had a health bar to spice up the challenge. pretty cool though ;)

anael says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:17am

Cool, playing is entering a strange creep mood. Well done.

teeth says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:41am

I wish I could have looked more at the cool monster art, but I couldn't shift my attention from the letters...
I think this would be a really cool way to practice typing! I found it surprisingly difficult to type pairs of letters instead of full sentences.

Larzan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Nice typing game, like the psychedelic effects of the monster and the sound.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]