Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growees

by NickZangus - Jam Entry

Help mother nature to overwhelm the wild industrialization!

How To Play:

The board consists of "natural" and "industrial" tiles.

When you click over a tile, all its neighbours get inverted.

The goal is to obtain a table full of natural tiles.

Controls:

LMB: Select tile
RMB: Rotate view
Scroll wheel: Zoom

Note: Mac and Linux versions not tested, if you experience any problem, please let me know!

Twitter: https://twitter.com/NickZangus
Email: contact@nickzangus.com

Credits:

All the contents were created during the 72 hours except for the followings:

Music by Kevin MacLeod - incompetech.com
Font by Lauren Thompson - www.nymfont.com
Sound Effects by freeSFX - www.freesfx.co.uk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#17Graphics(Jam)4.67
#73Mood(Jam)3.96
#73Overall(Jam)3.93
#224Fun(Jam)3.54
#681Innovation(Jam)2.90
#733Humor(Jam)2.21
#752Theme(Jam)3.39

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:26am

The download link is a 404

chr15m says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

Can't run it but this looks amazing! Nice work on the graphics!

NickZangus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17am

Hi ch15m! What problems you encountered?

flwns says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:56am

really nice game, probably the most polished I've ever played in a ludum dare.

roninfight says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Wow... Such a beautiful little game.

Amazingly attractive simple 3D, good sound design, really relaxing.

The puzzle are quite hard toward the end (or rather I'm not very good at them) but still one of my favourite submission.

Congratulations!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10pm

This is amazingly beautiful and polished. Love the soft illumination and muted palette, really fits both themes well. Great subtlety in the tile "flip", music and sound effects. I want this as an app right now. :)

_stice says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Beautiful game :)

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Nice twist of the Othello game! Like a lot!

wilsk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:15pm

A very nice looking puzzle game

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Mmmmmm.

This is a highly polished take on a game concept I've probably seen replicated 100 times. I'm pretty sure there are people out there who can solve these things as fast as those other people who can solve rubik cubes.

So, sorry, low on innovation but MASSIVE polish, which isn't really the point of LD, imho!

Well done still, it's REALLY beautiful. Credit where it's due.

recursor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Simply lovely and very relaxing to play. Love the graphics and the music. This is a very polished and solid entry. Very nice!

Gornova says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:03pm

solid entry, well done

zguerrero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Wow! this game is amazing! great art, sound, and the gameplay is simple but effective, and deep!

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Extremely polished game, albeit generic gameplay. Really relaxing soundtrack, and a nice game overall - keep up the good work!

psypol says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:16pm

WIN link gives a error404
i like games using those exagonal squares
maybe im not the type of player for that cause i find this difficult lol (i dont solve rubiksCubs neither ^^)

smbe19 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Really nice graphics.
I happened to have made the same game (without such fancy graphics ;D) some time ago, so I could use my solver for the later levels. They were quite difficult without.

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Quite enjoyable, you should work on making this an app.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Very nice game. I could play for hours.

paulfysh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Really stunning graphics, and a nice little puzzle game.

bessdlan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:56pm

amazing and relaxing game *_*

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Real nice! Relaxing!

Hiccups a bit in the browser - I think it's totally worth optimizing.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Very challenging puzzles! Great job.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:22pm

This is so good that does not even look like a jam game! Loved everything about it! Even the font ;) Well done Lauren Thompson!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Simple and cool concept, nice graphics, cool sound that sets the mood. Good job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Great. Love the graphics and the music. This is a very polished and solid entry. Well done ++

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Good simple but effective puzzle game, well done !

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Absolutely beautiful and clever. What a combination, full marks for this <3

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Really neat and polished entry! The gameplay feels great, I really loved the sound design

logon13 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Beautiful games congratulations on getting so many levels created in such a short time. Would have loved to be able to see which levels I had completed

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Nice game: relaxing, challenging once the board gets big enough, and with really pretty graphics. Good job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:05pm

It looks good and is fun to play. Nice game.

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Super polished game. Great job.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Really neat puzzle design, and it was very polished! This feels like a game that should have taken a lot longer to make =P Great job!

Diventurer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Amazing and brilliant artwork and polishing. I found it really hard after some levels, so I just had to give up. But it is a fantastic entry! :)

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:59pm

very cool atmpsphere

the-arrival says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:29am

My Fav so far! So smooth and polished handling, nice mechanics and awesome graphics. really something wich stands out by a lot out of all the entrys

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:12am

Amazing graphics and also I had fun solving each level

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:33am

I usually don't enjoy these types of puzzles, but this one actually kept my interest for a very long time. Something about was very 'welcoming' so to speak. I felt very relaxed while playing, a perfect casual game that I can see myself playing for long periods of time on mobile!

graphics were fantastic by the way, excellent submission, great job! :)

aare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:38am

Wow great I feel like playing old point&click puzzle minigame but better looking, and btw I love this graphics!:)

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:52am

This game is absolutely beautiful. I could stare at the beautiful art for a long time. As for the game itself, I found it hard, but I'm bad at puzzles like these. Awesome game!

utgarda says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:21am

"The Unity web player does not work on your system." Screenshots look nice, will find a windows machine to play it.

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Nice to try this one, i love this kind of puzzle game.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Would you please fix the link for Win download? I get "Page not found". I don't like installing other browsers to run Unity web player, so please, would you fix the link? I am very intrigued by the game (mine being similar in graphic style).

NickZangus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:36pm

@KaiseanGames
Link fixed, sorry for the inconvenience!

orion_black says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:07am

As many have said your overall presentation is amazing and quite impressive for a jam. On the other hand, the puzzles themselves were mostly trivial, a direct result of this being a well-known puzzle. Having said that, I'm sure plenty of people would enjoy relaxing with a mobile version of this.

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Really nice entry! Solid game and mechanic! Really feels like it could be a full proper puzzle game for both mobile and PC if it had a bit more.. such as seperate time/moves unlocking of levels.. check out the game "Cogs"

adsilcott says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Very elegant game with nice polished graphics and sounds. I thought it was too easy at first, but then I hit some of the later levels.

sputnik says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Super polished!

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Great game! It's amazing to see what you could do in three days.

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:03pm

beautiful aesthetic, well polished.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:17pm

If you add more levels and actions-counter you can go on app-store or g-play.
Looks awesome!

Robber says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:21pm

gameplay is not original, but the execution is so excellent!...solid entry!

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Wish there was a OpenlGL version since I'm on linux :c

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:54pm

The puzzle was quite hard, but seriously so well made that it didn't matter. I just kept swapping around and enjoying the whole thing a lot. It would be super crazy cool if the tiles kept track of how often they had been turned and so if someone like me isn't doing that well the game would present novel variations on the graphics of the tiles. If the music also reflected the relationship between the two tile types... As for the levels, since I was playing so badly, all three first levels became equally hard and the next one too difficult. I would suggest increasing difficulty more slowly and starting with simpler levels. Like starting with a hex tile that only has every other neighbor possible (4 tiles in total). Great game though. Really stunning. I guess you've though about it, but in case you haven't... controls would work very will on pad/mobile.

loxo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Beautiful game with calming audio and a great message. It took me a few minutes to get through all the levels. I wish you had included a fullscreen mode.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:01pm

High scores all round for this one, very nice indeed! What a beautiful clean graphical style. Tricky puzzles later on as well.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Great graphics, even if the idea is a little on the simple side.

I can't help be disappointed you only went the nature route. Growth could easily refer to industrial growth too, which could provide an interesting alternate approach.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Nice graphics! =D

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Very cool game. The art is amazing and the puzzles are well done.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Beautiful and challenging, with a good difficulty curve.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Very solid entry. Love the music and the mood. I think it has potential to be a popular mobile game. You should try it!

NickZangus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Added MAC and LINUX versions, if you experience any problem, please let me know!

luke says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:35pm

AMAZING!

Troma says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Nice graphics!

Codexus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Nice little puzzle, the graphics add a nice touch by making it less abstract.

wine says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Charming game with excellent mechanics. Love it!

wongcito says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Awesome game, man! Good base for new levels!

Wevel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Great game, lovely art style and some nicely difficult puzzles.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Amasing style and nice colors! :D The music was also very suitable :D So all in all 5/5 in Overall!

Miltage says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Fantastic! I loved the aesthetic and presentation. Superb work on the models.

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:16am

Great game. Loved the meditative gameplay. One of the few entries where i'm not found any flaws. Very polished and well balanced game.

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:30am

Very lovely and relaxing to play. The puzzles get a bit difficult but very nice game overall, nothing much to criticize, well done!

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:10am

really good one this.

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Very solid game! Our concept was a bit similar =)

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Visually this game is awesome! Game mechanic isn't new, game idea come from "Green Piece", but I love this idea =) Difficlty curve is strange, so few levels simplier than prevously cleared. Maybe this because of game mechanic and various human logic mechanism...

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Not original, but very polished! Well done!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Clever puzzles that can be solved in just a few steps, so if you're overthinking it and presses a bunch of tiles, that means you are doing it wrong. PS: I'm doing it wrong :( this game gets really hard!

wooltech says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:05am

Incredibly well polished take on an old puzzle game. Looks and plays great. Would be nice to see a target number of moves to know just how bad I'm being on some of the levels!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Very good design and graphics, the game is very polish! This is a good little puzzle game, I liked it! good job!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Nicely done. I was afraid it was similar to my entry. But it's only graphical style. Although I lack animations :)

Keep up the good work.

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Nice smooth feel to the game & graphics. The puzzling itself seemed a bit too simple, but also a bit too complex at times - when you don't 'get' it, there are not many hints/ways to progress.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:32am

Nice looking game. Calm music helped when I'd otherwise get aggravated at returning to an earlier configuration.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:39am

Very enticing to look at but not a game I've ever really enjoyed playing, and I don't really see how it fits into either theme.

rijnswand says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Nice graphics and mood! The tiles design is really cool, and the game overall looks very polished.
Good job!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Beautiful game, with nice background and sound.

lurils says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:38am

super nice and calming puzzle game, really like the simple art too, very polished

Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:36am

wow. Nice take on an old idea. :D

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Great game, simple and flowing, I like art.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Flawless execution. Should land on mobile market asap.

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:20am

Good, fun, simple game. Great visuals, too!

Tselmek says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:04pm

One of my favorites for this edition of Ludum Dare. I love the puzzles, the idea is very simple but it is done so well, everything is awesomely polished, the minimalistic visuals are greatly done. Congratulations.

bering says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Impressive graphics and polish! I like the wires, tubes and roots shooting out of the tiles. Nice music, soothing mood.

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:25am

Very challenging game at the later levels. Became difficult to come up with a strategy, but still stayed fun. Wonderful graphics, too!

emmes says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:09am

Standard puzzle, polished, with amazing graphics and well selected music. Doesn't really fit the theme, though.

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:53am

Beautiful game. I mostly felt like I was guessing until I got it right, but it was still enjoyable

TaoPhoenix says ...
Mar 13, 2016 @ 11:01am

I rather like the lack of "pressure" like #moves or a time limit etc, because if you don't have the pattern down to a science but just know the basics you can afford to mis-step and then fix it the 3rd time around or whatever.

So maybe it's been done, but it's all where you look, and since my main focus is on LD, this is the first exact copy of this I've seen!

And like the other people were saying, sometimes it's nice to have a nice presentation on top of a simple puzzle, because in other contexts you can possibly "separate and sell" the graphics engine to be put on top of other games in the same class.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]