Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

FUN BUNNY SQUID MASTER

by internetpaulicy - Compo Entry

I chose TWO BOTTON CONTROLS as the theme to pursue. I used qubicle 2.5.8, Bfxr. All animation is done in unity. For my content, bunnies turtles and squids. Indeed.

You play the part of a helpful Bunny. You flip over turtles that are stuck on their back. Touch the turtles to flip them over.

Press A to turn and D to move forward.

Thanks for playing my game!

Note: You are saving the turtles from the Squid Master.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#43Graphics4.32
#114Humor3.41
#130Mood3.58
#278Overall3.50
#300Audio3.04
#380Fun3.29
#404Theme3.82
#490Innovation3.14

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19am

It starts off a little slow, but then gets to a nice diffulcity. I loved how it looked and sounded great job there. Hard to tell when I was hitting stuff and not, and maybe only 1 life would have made things more thrilling haha.

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

Looks great, and an interesting concept. Two button controls work well.

I like the though of some evil squid god tormenting this particular bunny. It's amusing.

illblew says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46am

This was a fun play. I'm digging the squids, but not really sure how they fit in. It starts off nice and easy but the difficulty is pretty good as you go along. Got a decent amount of points on my first run. RIP Squid Boss.

amYk777 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

i had no idea what was happening or why

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05am

Thats ok amYk777

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:22am

haha, that squid hump of death at the end was amusing.

graphics look lovely, and it feels extremely polished for a 48 hour game, nice job! Concept was very creative, I could definitely see this on mobile, nice work :)

Membrane says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34am

Beautiful and well-designed. This was a joy to look at!! Movement could have been a little snappier, that would have made the gameplay perfect.

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:16pm

This is very well polished for a LD game. I love the premise of jumping on helpless turtles. The only thing I really have to say is that the audio isn't that great; it was quite loud and hurt my ears... Overall great entry.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:09am

I enjoyed my time with this game but I felt like the difficulty went from 0-100 real quick. I loved the aesthetic and the bouncy sounds were really fun. Good job!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:21am

Cute art and idea!I love it!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:30pm

It... gets really hard after a short while! At some point a bit unfair maybe? The game is very adorable, only thing I mis is a penguin and better bunny sounds ^^

randomhuman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Weeeeird, in a good way, and lovely art style, but the controls feel a little unnatural to me.

XenosNS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51am

Very cute game, enjoyed the voxel style

marod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:34pm

I liked it! But not the anoying sounds when the bunny hops

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:58am

This game is super polished, especially for a compo entry. Nice job on the presentation! The gameplay was also simple and compelling. However, I felt like there were a lot of situations where I couldn't do anything against the enemies, possibly due to random spawning, possibly due to my position on the map. Really good effort.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:02am

Looks good. Solid gameplay. Like it.

suppi says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:42am

solid entry. interesting game, interesting mechanics, great graphics. well done!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:04pm

When I picked up the turtles before the squid master who kept its eye on my got a minion on me, I felt quick. When I looked at the voxel graphics, I felt impressed! If you continue to develop this, when I overturned and tried to line up to the turtle, I felt awkward.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:26pm

I really like your take on the theme and the blocky graphics.
Nice job!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]