Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sprout

by Wolve - Jam Entry

[A][D] MOVE
[W] JUMP
[ARROWS] SHOOT

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Fun(Jam)4.03
#49Mood(Jam)4.11
#95Overall(Jam)3.87
#107Audio(Jam)3.83
#205Innovation(Jam)3.58
#253Theme(Jam)3.97
#259Graphics(Jam)3.92
#313Humor(Jam)3.00
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45pm

I didn't know where exactly to go so I ended up just wandering for the relaxation. Very, very nice sounds.

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52pm

The controls didn't work for me, only A/D was working can't manage to jump or shoot. The music is really good and graphics also!

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Nice little atmospheric metroidvania. As a metroid fan I digged the music choice :D

Vague correlation with the theme. The movement is extremely buggy, especially the trees. Game froze on me because of trees during first playthrough.

This has potential if done right. I like small metroidvanias and especially liked how rooms are interconnected.

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:35am

Very very very nice game. Loved it!

TomBoogaart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:50pm

pretty relaxing. im not a fan of the noise filter though. But it's cute, the mood is p good

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:32pm

wowowowow awesome game!1

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:30am

dope game wish there was more action/enemies/bossfight and puzzles with jetpack tho :\

also solid metroid music

tc4mpbell says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:41pm

I like it -- moving was very laggy in Chrome (speedy laptop), especially in the first screen, it seemed?

Fun game though, lots of variety, not too challenging.

LMT says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:38pm

I abosolutely adore this game. It is very complete and plays very nicely.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Nice entry)
I guess it lacks some explanation in first stages, as I stuck in first screen for a couple of minutes :)

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:07pm

This is AWESOME!
Especially the animation behind the Exit! :D
Still searching what to do next...

Split82 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:44am

OMG. Super awesome!

JaytleBee says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Great game! I never realized Shakespeare was a programmer xD

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Nice solid game! I like the growing mechanic a lot - it looked really cool.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:46am

This is a very good exploration platormer that reminds me of games from the Knitt series. The upgrade dynamic, mini map, graphics you achieved a lot in a short time! Id love to see what else you can do with more time!

seigne_m says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:23am

good game

LeReveur says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Nice ! Polished puzzle ! Exit from the gain-eye room is a bit hard, but yet a very good game. :)

axoona says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:58pm

great entry! interesting levels with original puzzles. the gameplay is fluid, not too easy but you're never really stuck neither, the music and graphis are nice as well. overall a very good game.
I could complain that playing with azerty keyboard is pain but well.. sometimes you need to adapt ;)

Muel says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:57am

Awesome work!

I just think you could have opted out of audio voting, cause, you know, it's straight from Super Metroid.

Other than that, it's a solid game, with a good use of growth mechanics. I really enjoyed playing it.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:05pm

this is definitely one of the best games!!! keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]