Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Voidbound

by disdanes - Jam Entry

Left click to move, right click to dash (once you acquire it later on).
Absorb enemies to grow larger!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#218Mood(Jam)3.61
#273Theme(Jam)3.95
#374Graphics(Jam)3.70
#424Audio(Jam)3.18
#508Overall(Jam)3.33
#592Humor(Jam)2.53
#719Innovation(Jam)2.83
#791Fun(Jam)2.80

Comments

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:56am

Lovely graphics and storyboarding. Brought me right back to playing Spore...but I mean that in a good way! The mechanic isn't new, but this is a very pleasant and well-executed take on it. Great work!

I'm not sure if this is just a coincidence or some odd Unity bug, but about 1 minute into the second level my browser locked up.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33am

It brings memories... I loved Spore and I loved this one too :) The way you told the story it brings tears to my eyes...

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48am

The windows link isn't working and the web link progress bar is frozen. Looks like an awesome game though. I'd love to try it.

Xinelu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50am

Beautiful! :D

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:52am

Great storytelling.
You incorporated elements of good design.
I really liked this entry.

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56am

I fixed the Windows link! Sorry about that!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12am

interesting game.

newbeings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26am

this was really cool. i like the graphics/music/story a lot. though i feel like the character would realize what was happening to him at the very least right after he becomes the sun. the rest felt way too obvious. and almost as if the character had little personal growth despite being through this whole thing. anyway, don't mean to sound harsh it was real cool! nice work!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41am

Interesting. I don't see many storylines in LD.

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49am

"My life is simple", I should eat a lot of shit on this kontest.
But not on that time. Here is fool store here!
Art is look cool too!

Good luck!

mr. a says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49am

A children's storybook. Definitely charming.

Criticisms are largely technical: Would've liked to press & hold to move, was a bit confused by the green running-man bar (what is it, exactly?), and sometimes was surprised when clicking to speed up the text ended up skipping it before I could read it. The "gameplay" seems better suited to young children, while the moral is much more broadly relevant.

More games need dancing motes.

sathorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54am

Great story and lovely art! It's a bit annoying that you can't really judge if you're larger than things, because they are not circles.

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01am

Super great graphics and aesthetics. I'd definitely play a mobile port. The dialogue is cute and the game plays well.

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47am

Appreciate all the great feedback everyone! I am happy everyone liked it for the most part. We really had some trouble getting everything together just the way we wanted it in the time frame, but that's LD for you :) It is much like a children's story book and I am glad you all were able to appreciate the narrative, we made that our central focus for this LD.

koocachookies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Wow. Very lovely graphics. Simple game but with an intense and dramatic story that makes it very special. Congrats! :D

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Very nice game. love the graphics and music. the story really sets up the mood :)

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Great game! Love it!

Nicolas Gass says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Fun and perfect storyboarding.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Game has absolutely untouchable zone near left top corner.

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Odd, what platform were you on?

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:53am

I missed a song in stage 2, but the story is lovely and the gameplay is nice.

kostak says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:51am

Simple game, but it looks pretty decent and is a nice concept!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Fun art style and great start out music! You guys should have used it throughout the levels, it would have improved the mood.

This game perfectly describes how I felt jamming throughout last weekend. Eating everything I see, felt fat (rounded) and then feel bad afterwards.

- Loi LeMix

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Interesting story of how lack of understanding causes hate.. or feeling of being betrayed. Somehow sad/ depressive.. Really enjoyed it! :]
I feel like a good voice over -> narration would push this title onto next level.
Cool sketchy art style with nice choice of colors and really great music! :)
Gameplay-wise nothing super original, but solid.
Thank you this entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]