Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Tail of Zlatanas

by Gaspard_ - Jam Entry

Edit:
New easier download available.
Just unzip and run the bash file.

2,d link:
Unzip the the zip file and run the .jar with the argument: -Djava.library.path="native"
I will hopefully provide an easier alternative quickly.

Basic Ideas:

You are the emperor Zlatanas! You have 3 powers. One is health, one is strength, and one is agility
These 3 powers can be grown by killing monsters. Upon reaching enough xp, you level that power up.

The game controls with two buttons:

D is a button used to attack.
S is to jump, or to place a finisher after a series of attacks with D.

However, you are limited in the amount of jumps or attacks you can do, you then have to recharge. Protip: the ground is your friend.
Try to increase your 3 powers as much as possible, however be warned: it is easy to die in the begining.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#390Overall(Jam)3.44
#390Innovation(Jam)3.31
#471Mood(Jam)3.27
#549Audio(Jam)2.93
#593Fun(Jam)3.06
#600Graphics(Jam)3.29
#800Theme(Jam)3.31
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Try to make the game easier to execute... couldnt play it.

Kvyosh says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Cool game and concept!

Anti says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:31am

Really liked the concept but the game could have used a little better execution. Still a very nice game.

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:02am

Not able to play :P

drinkadriu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:58am

Really nice i like it

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:25am

Nice concept! The extra use of the 'S' button is well thought out, but at the start I was puzzling why the character wouldn't jump.

By the way: the final zip with LWJGL is twice the size because it contains the zip contents twice.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Couldn't get it to work. With the Bash script, it runs and I hear the music, but the game window is just solid grey.

The music's good at least! :)

gelisam says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:21pm

On OS X 10.10.5, running the bash command fails with the following error message:

loading...
Loaded:/Users/gelisam/ludumdare/rendu/native/liblwjgl.dylib
loading...
Loaded:/Users/gelisam/ludumdare/rendu/native/liblwjgl.so
loading...
Loaded:/Users/gelisam/ludumdare/rendu/native/liblwjgl32.so
loading...
Loaded:/Users/gelisam/ludumdare/rendu/native/libopenal.dylib
loading...
Loaded:/Users/gelisam/ludumdare/rendu/native/libopenal.so
loading...
Loaded:/Users/gelisam/ludumdare/rendu/native/libopenal32.so
loading...
Loaded:/Users/gelisam/ludumdare/rendu/native/lwjgl.dll
loading...
Loaded:/Users/gelisam/ludumdare/rendu/native/lwjgl32.dll
loading...
Loaded:/Users/gelisam/ludumdare/rendu/native/OpenAL.dll
loading...
Loaded:/Users/gelisam/ludumdare/rendu/native/OpenAL32.dll
native
end
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:62)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:497)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoader.java:58)
Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException
at yo.MyGLFW.init(MyGLFW.java:87)
at yo.Display.<init>(Display.java:65)
at yo.Main.main(Main.java:6)
... 5 more

ciaodavinci says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Couldn't get the .jar file to execute. Concept seemed nice though!

Afendar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:22am

i can't run the game. Not start :(

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:12pm

I tried to run both releases on Windows 10 with java updated and got just a gray window...

Gaspard_ says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:58pm

I'm sorry for the problems encountered while attempting to run this game. I just prefer to have something that works sometimes (current state) than never (what could have happened). The bugs I encountered while creating the .jar are so weird that I can't even begin to comprehend them.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Sorry, but I can't make it work either, despite being an IT professional myself. That's java.

Java just doesn't work. It was awesome like ~10 years ago or more, way before Oracle got its hand on it, but that age is long gone.

I'm sorry, but please, next time avoid using java.

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Can't play it. :-(

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:27pm

@Gaspard_ I understand... that's a pity... Good work anyways! This game seems very cool! Hope to play another game from you next LD!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]