Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

OrbiHop

by TnT - Jam Entry

Have fun hopping across the galaxy to get back to Earth!

There are only two buttons to control the ship, space to launch and shift to change power.

There is a level editor and the ability to load level files (.bacon of course), as well as have folders for level packs. Feel free to post level files or zips of level packs below, we would love to see what you guys come up with.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#282Overall(Jam)3.56
#339Fun(Jam)3.38
#415Innovation(Jam)3.28
#671Mood(Jam)3.03
#700Theme(Jam)3.47
#708Audio(Jam)2.07
#813Graphics(Jam)2.83
#822Humor(Jam)1.93

Comments

The Vall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57am

Interesting game physics.

4burner says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:36am

Pretty cool game, have to admit I got bored of it after the initial few levels though. Looks nice and plays well, however!

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47am

Excellent game! I enjoyed it a lot!

Epicruins195 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:27am

This game is great. Fluid and dynamic orbiting mechanics, lots of levels, effective controls as well as each level being a sort of puzzle. The "shadows" on the planets are also a nice touch. Only thing it could use is some music.

willchil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:32pm

This game is awesome and reminds me a ton of a game I made a few months ago.
http://www.awesomestuff.software/graviton/
Not to advertise, but I think you might like to compare.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:32am

Really good game. The first levels are really easy, but they started getting interesting near the end.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16am

I WON!

Great level design. The music and art and pacing were nothing much to speak of, but the level design was wonderful and interesting. The progression was well thought out, and the puzzles allowed for a good mix of reasoning + trying new approaches. Well done!

hyperscope says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:07am

Interesting non standard use of physics! A classic puzzle game with a lot of options in terms of level design. Granted not my favorite type of game but still well done.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:55am

Great orbital mechanics game! I really enjoyed all the twists, and the puzzles graduated in difficulty at a nice pace. Also, I love to see games allow for player-created content from the get-go. Great entry!

Gtron says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:06am

Could not open. Running Mac OSX 10.10 and Java 7 update 25.

StMatn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:19am

I really like your game! I love playing with gravity, so this was really great! The gfx look quite nice ;)
Maybe you should consider not using the shift key, so that windows users don't get the sticky keys message when rapidly hitting shift (to precisely adjust power) ;)

The game definitely is one of my favorites! :)

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:52am

An excellent and mind-bending puzzle game with some incredible physics at play. Got a little tiring after awhile, though, and I think it's due to its slow pace (which could be sped up by making planets spin quicker, the ship fly faster, or simply by adding a 'speed up' button). Love the trajectory path, and zinging around black holes is super fun. Nice work overall!

thelasthour says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Couldn't play. Got this exception.
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: javafx/embed/swing/JFXPanel
at TnT.ld.ld34.LD34.start(LD34.java:57)
at TnT.ld.ld34.LD34.main(LD34.java:53)
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: javafx.embed.swing.JFXPanel
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:381)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:424)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:331)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:357)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Smooth gameplay, challenging levels, fits the theme well - nothing to complain about! Good work! :)

Mantlair says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Yay I win! Game was great! Thanks! I just want to say if you make shift key switch between negative and positive each time you press It could be better. Currently you have to sweep antire range in order to go other direction on power bar. (I hope you will understand i killed english in that sentence probably)

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:57am

ugh java

Mirch says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:57am

Really freakin' fun! Especially when they start moving. Kinda gets annoying sometimes, maybe some of the planets could be spinning a little bit faster?

Grouflon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Felt like science :) That was awesome, thank you !

blubberquark says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:33pm

$ java -version
java version "1.7.0_91"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea 2.6.3) (7u91-2.6.3-0ubuntu0.14.04.1)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 24.91-b01, mixed mode)

$ java -jar OrbiHop.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: javafx/embed/swing/JFXPanel
at TnT.ld.ld34.LD34.start(LD34.java:57)
at TnT.ld.ld34.LD34.main(LD34.java:53)
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: javafx.embed.swing.JFXPanel
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:366)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:355)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:354)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:425)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:308)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:358)
... 2 more

Benn says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:28pm

Nice game! I get the feeling that I would have enjoyed it a bit more if I had control of the rotating planets instead of having to wait for it to rotate by itself, but I saw it through to the end ^__^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]