Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Celebration Of Jand

by Dooskington - Compo Entry

"Brothers! Jand is once again upon us, and we haven't even begun the sacrificial bonfire! If we don't finish it in time... I shudder to think of what horrors will befall our land..."
- Aeret Drazius, High Priest of Aramoor

Celebration of Jand is a game that I made in 48 hours for Ludum Dare 34. Due to a tie in the theme voting, there were two themes: "Growing" and "Two button controls". This game follows both of those themes.

The goal of the game is to command your peons, gather enough resources, and prepare for Jand by building the sacrificial bonfire. Trees are worth less resources than stone, but are more plentiful.

Using your mouse, you can left click to select individual peons, or do a box selection. Once you have some peons selected, you can right click on a resource to tell them to gather it.

To gain additional peons, you can sacrifice one peon and 100 resources by selecting a peon and right clicking on the bonfire.

https://github.com/Dooskington/Celebration-of-Jand

If you are running Windows, this game requires the Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015!
Download it here:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48145

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#216Humor2.97
#562Fun3.05
#588Audio2.37
#681Innovation2.79
#694Mood2.66
#742Overall2.93
#832Theme3.18
#844Graphics2.23

Comments

krashja says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

Liked this game, its kinda funny for a short time, simple graphics but cute :P

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40am

Is there a goal amount of resources to gather? A time limit? Is there any disadvantage to having all peons just hit the nearest tree?

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48am

The scream was hilarious. Can't stop playing. Ever.

shaulor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52am

couldn't run it, MSVCP140.dll missing

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:04am

Funny game.

RyanMan56 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20am

Missing DLLs

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:21am

MSVCP140.dll and VCRUNTIME140.dll both missing.

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:22am

For the people that have MSVCP140.dll problems, you need to install visual C++ 2015 redist package from microsoft I think.

The game is fun. I like the pixels ;-)
Good job for fitting both theme.

I don't understand how to start the fire, tho. I have 1324 resources earned. Do I need more?

brandloose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

Really like the little peons. But there didn't seem to be much challenge. (Btw, would you be able to try my game again and tell me if the zip file works)

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26am

Interesting little game. If it were a little more fleshed out (and with some sort of challenge/complication added) it might be something neat!

nucleartide says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26am

Neat game! :) Not sure how to trigger Jand, so I just let all my peons gather stone.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28am

For the people that have MSVCP140.dll problems, you need to install the VS2015 C++ redistribuate for x86. Just google it.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47am

For games where you're getting resources for the sake of resources, it's important to have a cutoff point. Something simple like "get 10,000 resources and the game will display a bad drawing of a bonfire" provides a goal to work towards and makes the tasks along the way seem at least somewhat meaningful.

As it stands, though, I had an embarrasing amount of fun throwing peons to their doom and watching an endless centipede of workers carrying stone to and fro.

One minor issue is that I had a tree spawn below the resource counter so I couldn't read the second digit at all. Maybe put a bit of a margin on the left for the resource spawner?

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01am

You're moan for killing peons is great. I do however get the impression that you were intending on doing more. As other's have mentioned, there doesn't seem to be anything negative in the game such as a time limit or resources being depleted. It looks like you can just assign the peons to a resource and let the game run on it's own. Specifically, I currently have 2049 peons mining the same location and over 100,000 resources. I'm guessing this was just a matter not enough time.

What I am impressed about is how buttery smooth the game runs with 2000 peons; it's using almost no CPU resources, and the game doesn't shirt at selecting them all at once. So for reasons unknown I decided to take this to an absurd level. At once point I had over 100,000 peons on the screen (see https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/87314864/TooMuchJand.png). The only slowdown I saw was when I mass sacrificed them. Finally, mass-sacrificing 120,000 peons in one shot took down your game.

I know this probably wasn't the intention of your game, but I did have a far too much fun trying to break it.

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24am

http://i.imgur.com/UKQAI55.gifv
You should mention the you game requires "Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015".
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48145

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14am

So addicting for something so simple. Great work. Runs great and the little peons are cute :3

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:03pm

It's funny. I especially liked the scream when killing peons. Like others have mentioned, I'm not sure what I'm supposed to be doing aside from killing my peons to get more -- but it's strangely fun anyway.

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Pretty satisfying to see my population grow, but gameplay itself was not all that interesting or engaging.

tazdij says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:31pm

I like it, nice work on getting a semi RTS going in this amount of time. and without an engine, just straight SDL2.

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Very smooth and the little people are funny to command. Always liked a god game. Not much purpose to it all though.. really seems like you meant it to be a bit more?

Charzendat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Overall I do like this game, but I wish there was an endgame. To finish it all I did was mine enough resources and sacrificed al 51 peons at once. All that happened was I got 99 more peons.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Love the animation and movement of the peons, adorable, like a flea xD

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Nice idle game. Liked it but is there an objective?

JordanFitz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34am

The sound effects were hilarious!

siege says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00am

Because I'm still thinking about this game today, I'm improving my score.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:50am

I'm glad you enjoy it :)

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56pm

I like RTS-games, but not idle clicker games. This is kind of a mix between those two. Sound is really loud. The graphics are simple but OK. Would be nice to have a goal to reach and any challenge.

jachepe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Great game! I can't stop improving my score

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:20pm

I liked this game, the graphicd were basic but worked with the game and the dying noise was funny :) good game!

Well Done!

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:43am

The game runs very smoothly and is fun hear the little guys burn haha.

I let them gather enough resources to be able to burn'em all. Then the new workers resume the work.

I'm so sadistic... :v

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Nice engine! It was charming. I hope you will use it for a more extensive game in the future :)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:28am

Addictive and nice looking game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]