Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dynamica

by CivvyThePandaTM - Compo Entry

Dynamica is a puzzle game where the levels **grow** in complexity! That deserves at least two stars for theme, right? Also, only two buttons are used. That totally deserves another star! Right? Please?
=================================
Normal puzzle games have you moving a character around to try and get him from point A to point B. However, in Dynamica, you don't control the character directly. Instead, you move objects that affect the ship through different forces in an attempt to get him to a zone. This is all explained in the in-game tutorial.
=================================
Controls :
LMB : Select and deselect objects
Mouse : Move the object around

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#477Fun3.16
#521Innovation3.11
#591Overall3.11
#821Graphics2.37
#949Theme2.21
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:43am

huh.. this is actually a very unique and awesome idea. I could imagine this on mobile for sure. Perhaps it could be a little easier in some way (Or atleast the start levels). I really enjoyed this. Theme is not so strong though haha! But yes... your game definitely did grow in difficulty... so Ill give u two stars..

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:45am

huh.. this is actually a very unique and awesome idea. I could imagine this on mobile for sure. Perhaps it could be a little easier in some way (Or atleast the start levels). I really enjoyed this. Theme is not so strong though haha! But yes... your game definitely did grow in difficulty... so Ill give u... one star.. Everything else is great though :-) 5/5 audio because space is silent?

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:21pm

nice idea. since it requires moving objects very small amounts to tweak your solution, it would be nice if the object's didn't "snap" to the center of the mouse, but instead stayed fixed relative to where you click.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Really liked this. Simple but fun to play.

Charzendat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26pm

I give you full points for innovation and using different space objects to have varying gravitational effects. Sadly though it feels exhausting at times as you try for the dozenth time to get the planet into the pixel perfect spot it needs to be.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Wow this is awesome! With some more work you could make a "real" game out of this!

Because it is so good i'm gonna be nitpicky ;)

- It would be nice if the planets stayed in place when you click them, so you can move them with more precision.
- Graphics are not very great.

Overall very well done!!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Very good idea for a game. I liked the physics and also the way the ship is attracted to the planet thingy.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Pretty nice physics system! Reminds me of Auditorium. Lacks some music and feedback but overall good potential :)

Alloyed says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:27pm

I didn't finish, mostly because felt the UI made the game too tedious: I don't think the puzzles were too hard, necessarily, but without more feedback I'm stuck in an endless loop of slighlty moving a planet, and then waiting 10-15 seconds for the simulation to finish. Placing a line along the predicted arc would have made feedback from my changes immediate, and while it would have made the early levels much simpler it gives you more room for later mechanics IMO.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]