Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A years growth

by BoaHeck_ArtGent - Jam Entry

Mind your uncles farm for a year.

Meet some cute animals.

Do at least 4 different farming activities.

Maybe even have a birdhouse fall on your head.

Also the "2" button controls it ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Mood(Jam)4.35
#85Overall(Jam)3.91
#107Audio(Jam)3.83
#119Graphics(Jam)4.22
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#488Humor(Jam)2.68
#503Fun(Jam)3.17
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

misteak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17am

D'aww. Isn't your game the cutest thing? <3
I just love farming sims, and I was impressed by the amount of (cute) content you were able to put in.

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21am

I really liked the look of this game!
The pace was slow but I think that was the point.
Very good entry :)

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39am

Such a cute game. I loved the progression and the overall style. Awesome job!

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

Uncle needs to install a sprinkler system. I liked the mix of 2d and 3d and the piano music the best! -T

Farelle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52am

The Screenshots were already promising, but now that I could play it, I like it even more ^^ the music is beautifully reflecting the "day by day life", the little "gulp" when having stolen yet another animals home was hilarious and overall I really had fun :) Only thing that I think would have added alot more to it is sounds(the music helped to overplay that though).
Oh and I liked how clearly defined the game goals are and the exit of the game feels not out of place at all. It's a bit like the game is your memories from that year written down in that letter :)
Like it alot :)

napoleon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Absolutely beautiful.

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:31pm

It's a great achievement in 72 hours. The game is ridiculously cute.

the31 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:46am

Nice to see a peaceful game. Good atmosphere! I think I missed a bit of dialogue, though, because everything's on the "2" key that I was spamming to pick stuff up. I really liked the simple and natural story... growing some crops and growing as a person.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24am

Nice setting and mood. I was picking up seeds by the well, found the bunny but suddenly my seed count was 0/0 and I could not continue the game :/

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Slow paced, reflecting game. Playing it feels almost like a chore, which fits the mood nicely, but the narrative falls short, more like a short story for kids. Good effort, all in all, so keep it up!

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:46pm

I liked the mood and most of all the painted style of the game. It might have been nice if the character moved a little faster and that one didn't have to repeat as many times during the quests. But in all a nice experience.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Very cute and beautiful indeed. I also would have liked the character to move a bit faster, with all the moving around there is to do but it was ok. Superb entry!

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:50am

Nice, calming atmosphere. Love the graphic style also. Cute little story. :)

RovingSquid says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Cute game! I really enjoyed it. Thanks!

Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Cute game! I just wish the character moved a bit faster. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/i8PM6O3S2Ao

graebor says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Very pleasant little experience, really love the art! I do agree with others saying I wish the character moved a little bit faster, though I get that you were probably going for a slower more contemplative pace.

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:24pm

I kinda want to live on this farm now.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]