Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Riders On The Steppes

by theholychicken - Compo Entry

***I strongly recommend the Desktop version over the Web version, as there will be significantly less lag during the final battle!***

Controls:
Right Mouse Button: Run Faster
Left Mouse Button: Fire Arrows

Escape from the enemy horde, and gather support on the way. Turn and fight an epic battle when you've grown strong enough!


Tips:
Hold down Right Mouse Button to get further away from your pursuers, let go of it to let your soldiers follow around you.
Don't engage the enemy too prematurely, you need to be patient and let your strength grow before turning to face them.
When the time comes to fight, tap Left Mouse Button like crazy to shoot down your enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#118Mood3.63
#170Innovation3.70
#178Graphics3.77
#278Overall3.50
#362Theme3.87
#371Fun3.30
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Really liked the mood this created and the horde. Perhaps some numbers might have helped with the sizes of each group. That way you know how big to grow your side before engaging the enemy. Fun to play. Liked the graphics. Worked well for me on the web; no lag that I could sense.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21am

What a cool entry. I liked this though it needs a bit more gameplay. just running until your army gets bigger does get old after a while :)
This is potential though. Great compo entry.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:27am

Really enjoyed this game a lot. Animation and visuals were well done and the use of theme was fantastic.

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:27am

I knew my loyal retainers would show up.

moltanem2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07am

I loved how well it captured the idea of galloping across the steppes :) awesome entry for that alone. Graphics were great and fitting, would have loved some audio. Oh man like some find ambiance too. Anyways good show!

Andrew Patton says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I came across this on Gamejolt. Really cool game. Very origional with, great theme, and mood.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09pm

beautiful

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26pm

The game definitely felt very good! I loved seeing the forces grow. The feeling of horse riding was cool. I think this could really be expanded upon! :)

kabel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:57pm

It was fun and nice and simple, the only thing missing was more enemies and bigger battles!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:45pm

This is the first LDJAM34 that I played and one of my favorites. I felt like I was attacked my Ghengis Khan Himself! Is there a way to beat it?

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:59am

Simple gameplay, felt like it needed a wee bit more (i.e variation with mounted units, some that charged on left click, etc), but the presentation was pretty good and felt fun to play despite some lag issues I noticed when playing it on my machine (alleviated by downloading it). Good work!

triello says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:54pm

O love the mechanics! Great job!

Will be nice if it have progressive dificult level.

Well done! Congratulations!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:39pm

You really managed to create an epic spectacle with this. I'd love to see more twists on the gameplay over time if you keep working on this. Great job!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Awesome! I loved the feel of this game. The subtle screenshake, high point of view and great animation made it feel like I was really controlling a little army.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:27am

Pro:
+ Simple but cool concept
+ Really cool to see your army growing and your men following you
Con:
- A bit weird to see that riders would collide with each other
- There is no way to lose
Obs:
o Some more strategy beside running till you gather enough army would be cool

Awesome job!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:14pm

When the numbers were large and the millions of arrows started flying I thought it was really cool

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:27am

I liked this game, but the early parts where I was just running away and waiting for riders to join me felt a bit bland.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:05pm

The graphics in this worked well and liked the way that the horde just attacks. First game attempt I got completely destroyed before I even knew what was going on. But after that I learnt to gather support before messing with the enemy. Nice job.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Nice graphics, and cool game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]