Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

neon fall

by dlowe - Jam Entry

Neon Fall

Test your reflexes with this arcade-style game! Can you beat our high score of 9 points?

The game was a close collaboration between my 8-year-old son Micah and myself. He designed the basic gameplay & mechanics, and chose the sound effects. I chose the visual style and did all the coding. The whole family helped with playtesting :)

The code is pure javascript, written from scratch without a framework. It seems to run reasonably well in both Firefox and Chrome on my computer (but not Safari, and almost certainly not IE :/).

One known bug: the green "bumper" physics are a big janky, especially if there's a huge size delta, or if you collide with them while growing. Consider it an extra challenge ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#310Theme(Jam)3.90
#434Fun(Jam)3.24
#444Innovation(Jam)3.24
#500Overall(Jam)3.34
#620Audio(Jam)2.70
#656Graphics(Jam)3.17

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33pm

nice visuals, well done

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:36pm

this is a good game I like the idea. Very fast game play, would have liked to have heard a slamming tune I feel that would really help.

Ka-Wiz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:24am

a fun little game. impressive for being pure javascript done over a weekend. liked the bumper physics! i agree with SineGlitch though, a little music would go a long way.

Strike says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:35am

Very talented and young game designer ;)

shadow64 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36am

My first time through I didn't know WHAT was going on. Haha. It was moving crazy fast and I wasn't getting bigger. The second time through I was more prepared. I really had a lot of fun and went from a high score of three to NINE! I definitely enjoyed myself and congrats to you and your son on building a fun game together!

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36am

congrats on family effort. fun to play.

TheFumelgo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36am

Nice ! Just starts to freeze when to large

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:16am

Nice gameplay mechanics! Sound effects are on spot!

Jelinib says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:30am

I got to 8 points. So close!

The graphics are simple but slick and effective, and the sound effects yummy. :)

A couple of times I had a red one hit me from above the screen, I think. Didn't even see it coming!

Really satisfying and fun game. Nicely done!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:13am

nice idea for a game - nice job working with the family - this might be a fun mobile game

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:46am

Ratta Ratta Ratta Ratta.

Fun little micro game, the bumping's pretty cool, I feel like the fall rate is a little too fast and it was kind of lacking difficulty when I got large enough. Definitely a cool parent-son collaboration though, looking forward to seeing more in the future ;).

suppi says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:12am

pretty fun game! I like the mechanics and the bumpy feeling from the green circle. I also looks pretty good visually. I was only able to get up to 7 though :)

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Addictive game concept. The first time I couldn't remember the different types of bumpers, but it got easier after that. I managed to get only to 8.

ztiromoritz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:30pm

That was fun!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:42pm

No idea how scoring works but the mechanics were pretty interesting.

dlowe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:05pm

I just got to 10 points! I wasn't 100% certain that it was possible. The scoring scales logarithmically, while the difficulty ramps linearly.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Nice game! I was a little disappointed that my score seemed so low.. and then I noticed that apparently 10 is the highest anyone's gotten.. so my 6 seems a little less cruddy now. :P

The only thing I'd say is the homing physics of the yellow and red objects seem a little too overpowered.. It's far easier to get crushed by five yellows (and a soul-crushing red :P ) then it is to dodge them... eventually I figured out just holding left or right is the solution. :P

Still, it was quite fun to play... and runs great in Firefox on Linux! :D

Shurty says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Nice addictive game ! It was not very clear at the beginning but then I get it and its clearly fun to play ! good job :)

dmecke says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Nice gameplay, at first I struggled a bit to understand what color does what. Maybe you could introduce the different tiles one after another. That will especially be useful if you decide to add more and more types of tiles.

yuigoto says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Whoa! Thank You for the game! :P

Your son created a quite challenging concept for the game, and the minimalistic visuals are really great!

Congrats to the both of you for making this game! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]