Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Outer Space

by Markus Brand - Jam Entry

Used theme: Two button controls.
This is our first project as Team.
The game is simply about navigating through a field of asteroids, without getting your ship crushed.
The control-key makes it a bit more interesting: With it, you can switch between the two different layers, to avoid collisions.
3 Pickups can help you: An automated laser gun, a force shield, and a repair kit.
Let's see how far you can get, and if you can beat the highscore :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#284Audio(Jam)3.43
#487Fun(Jam)3.19
#615Graphics(Jam)3.26
#641Overall(Jam)3.19
#647Mood(Jam)3.05
#745Humor(Jam)2.18
#799Innovation(Jam)2.70
#892Theme(Jam)3.11

Comments

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:10am

Enjoyable and addictive, the shifting layers mechanic made it a bit different, nice work

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Could not get this entry to start. Which file do I need to run? browsed the directories but didn't find anything that would run.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Fun game. Nice graphics.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:33am

Nice flappy bird style space side scroller. Liked the background/foreground toggle mechanic. Nice job.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:36am

Nice simple game although since there is nothing stopping you from just sinking right to the bottom you can get by without doing much. I'd suggest the player should take damage when the touch the borders of the level. Oh and I digged the music props!
ps I liked the use of 2 asteroid layers

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:07am

Loved the animations! Well polished, and I appreciate the live high score.

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:16am

Fun, simple entry. Incredible music, awesome in-game physics. The aesthetic is nice, you might want to consider adding more play elements. Overall feels polished. Well done! 5/5 audio.

eerongal says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Neat game. Loved the graphics.

zulman says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Nice damage model, actually very big step as user feedback since flappy bird :)

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:58pm

nice game

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Really fun game, the Ctrl mechanic was really interesting - although it took a few attempts to understand what it was doing, maybe if you were to work on it more have a small tutorial at the start to explain it? Really enjoyed it though, good work!

Gaspard_ says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Solid entry with some nice music. Gameplay-wise the game was a little to slow at first and close to impossible around 250-300. The mechanics were good even if the laser powerup seemed useless. The score feature was a nice addition and the sound effects blended in well. Good job!

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Pro:
+ Very cool mechanics
+ Nice graphics and music
Con:
- Physics seemed a bit odd (specially the "gravity")
Obs:
o Sad that the laser destroys power ups >.<

Great work!

HUMANICS says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Really fun to play ;) Nice job!

drinkadriu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Its pretty okay I guess, you could work a little in the gameplay but its okay

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]