Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

G.R.O.W (Growth and Reduction avOidance Wing)

by DeathBySnail - Compo Entry

Congratulations! You've been chosen as a test sub... erm, pilot, for our one of a kind size changing vehicle.

Use the buttons to grow and shrink in order to get past our obstacle course. However, our engineers are rather eccentric, deciding on an obfuscated ever-changing ship layout.

We promise there are no side effects.

Note: WebGL unsupported, best I can do is the deprecated Unity web player (which appears to only work on IE...). Please download for best quality (well, relatively speaking).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#61Humor3.72
#127Innovation3.78
#155Audio3.44
#233Overall3.57
#410Graphics3.22
#412Fun3.24
#418Theme3.81
#433Mood3.03

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30am

Wow loved it. A game within a game. 3D too. Great job. Loved the audio. Awesome idea. A timer would have good too, but I was happy to get to the end.

samsquanch9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Enjoyed the game. Had to download as the web build wouldn't work for me at all. The shrinking and growing mechanic was well implemented. Good work.

Tjakka5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:16pm

This game is hilarious, and a ton of fun!

ItsFrank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Really interesting concept and awesome soound!

Kraky says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Ahah awesome ! Good job !!!

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Fun game, I especially liked how you projected the 2D player-space onto the 3D object, I haven't seen that done before. Well done :)

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Love it! Great idea! awesome music !

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Addictive music and nice 3d graphics. Solid entry.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:52pm

hahaha it gave me a hard laugh and you took me back to Star Fox 64 :) Well done

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:31am

It was a nice and funny experience.

Vladik_Plays says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Nice game, needed some time to figure out that you are a tiny cube jumping around in the controll panel. Whe I am big, I can't see any thing where I'm going. It was really funny at the end. You should add some kind of damage to that thing. ;)

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Interesting mechanics, funny dialogue. Good work!

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:19pm

hahahaha!! GREat music!!
Lovely concept!!

SelfTitled says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:20pm

What a cool concept sort of a game in a gmae

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:20pm

i like the idea but i think it just wasn't for me, maybe needs an option to review the tutorial or put notes on your entry as I had to restart it due to the Press ctrl message dissappearing before i could read it and got stuck.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Really cool. Love the game-in-a-game and voiced sound effects and music. Collision with the + or - seems a bit finicky or maybe I'm just expecting it to be easier. xD Good work!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Really cute little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/l1a-s63Ve1s

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:06am

Nice game!! Love the music! Love the dialogues! And the gameplay is entertaing :D It reminded me a bit of "Lovers in a dangerous spacetime" Keep up the good work!

knason says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:55pm

hahah awesome music!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:36pm

hahaha pretty good one, nice music, got stuck pretty bad!

teamvr says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:55am

Cool inset game window.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:28am

Foxtacy: Very interesting mechanics hahahahaha i had a very nice time... but i got stuck :P

bering says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Neat concept

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]