Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Square

by Integershift - Jam Entry

Welcome to Super Square!
---------------------------------------------------------------
In Super Square, you play as Super Hexagon's ugly and much less popular 2nd cousin!
Prepare yourself for anger as you play the incredibly unfair and difficult game, now with 2 modes!

IN Obstacle you avoid the incoming obstacles on the sides.
IN Freefall you avoid the falling hexagons.

Made in 12 hours by @Integershift

MUSIC TRACKS
1. Yay
2. Martian
3. Signal
4. Trap
5. Up

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#369Audio(Jam)3.29
#758Fun(Jam)2.86
#808Innovation(Jam)2.68
#828Graphics(Jam)2.77
#864Mood(Jam)2.65
#892Overall(Jam)2.87
#964Theme(Jam)2.91
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:00am

Well, you did say it would make me mad.

I liked the music and it looks pretty polished... well, the first little bit that I saw... over, and over, and over again!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01am

This was charming :) I like the cheesy pitched-down voices -- very '90s! I didn't really understand when i was controlling the square size but other than that it plays fine. Good work on this.

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:02am

Intersting concept, however the random generation can screw you over by putting two obstcles that extend past eachother, making it impossible to dodge no matter what your size is.

mclewis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:36am

This was really fun! Simple and addicting gameplay. Unfortunately there were parts generated that were impossible to get through.

gkxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40am

I don't see the point of changing your size. Since you want to avoid everything, is there any reason for being larger?

Also, it seems that you're missing the "A" and "D" keys under the "Control Square With" in the instructions screen.

The graphics were simple, but clean, and the music was good.

sathorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:42am

Nice game, but it's always pretty easy until you randomly get an impossible obstacle.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54am

Yeah, per sathorn and the others, this is a prime candidate for a Post Compo version. I'd think some kind of width addition check in pairs should work.

And I just rolled my critter to very small and left it that wsy. I didn't see any incentive to get bigger.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Good game! Beautiful music. Interesting gameplay. But sometimes it becomes impossible to play because of the very narrow holes.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:15am

Fun game but I didn't really enjoy the music, but that's just my taste.

esayitch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:19pm

I liked the overall style of this, but like others didn't really understand why I would wanna be anything but the smallest thing possible xD

When I died it was because two obstacles were ramming into each other and there was no way to get through :(

Game was pretty good, good luck!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]