Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growth Industries

by SteveSalmond - Jam Entry

Congratulations for being accepted to your one week employment trial at Growth Industries, Incorporated. Growing better people is our business! We use the latest advances in nutrient delivery technology to ensure customers will be completely satisfied with the product. At Growth Industries we like to keep humans in the loop, so welcome aboard, and good luck!

CONTROLS
- Click buttons with mouse or use keys 1-6 to dispense nutrients.
- HINT: You can also click on the nutrient dispensers themselves (top of screen)

UPDATES
- Post-jam version with minor fixes now available!
- Mac and Linux builds now available (not tested)

TEAM NINJA THUMBS
- Moritz Schlitter (@momoschli): Art
- Steve Salmond (@stevesalmond): Code, Sound

TOOLS
- Unity
- Visual Studio 2015 Community Edition
- Blender
- Garageband
- Audacity
- Photoshop

PLUGINS
- DOTween for Unity http://dotween.demigiant.com/
- LightShafts https://github.com/robertcupisz/LightShafts

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Audio(Jam)4.12
#47Graphics(Jam)4.54
#52Overall(Jam)4.00
#70Innovation(Jam)3.88
#87Mood(Jam)3.91
#161Fun(Jam)3.65
#166Humor(Jam)3.41
#265Theme(Jam)3.96
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07am

Fantastic. I got fired so much and came back ready for more.

benjaml says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13am

Great work, very polish, just awesome !

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13am

Took me a while to figure out what it was they needed, but then I saw the coloured panels on the tubes!

After that I did great! Or maybe, until I had to start multitasking, damn

RhysD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:17am

Amazing audio, visuals and atmosphere! The game was fun, until it got confusing, then I got fired a few times and blamed my lack of co-ordination :)

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19pm

It becomes quickly complicated at the third level, but thats what make this game really good :D

JaCkJoKeZ says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:25am

This game was SICK. I gave it 5/5, I got all the way to level 6 B) I would LOVE for this to be a full game. With the wages being usable for like upgrades of some sort. Or maybe adding a kinda of sci fi story element where you're a new worker in this facility and the story starts giving all these thought provoking questions like he said in the beginning of level 6; Do you ever think why we grow these people? #justathought :D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:26am

I took me quite some time to understand the color I had to use for each specimen (I first it thought it was the colour of the tube...). But once I got it, it was pretty fun! It seems that some color sequences are impossible (yellow x 3 ?). Apart from that, great game! Good polish, good graphics, good gamefeel, good audio! Amazing!

hydancer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:31am

Pretty polished game and you guys achieved a lot with the time given. I was surprised by how well balanced it seems and how it nicely it progresses and gets harder with each level. Getting this right is something that not a lot of people put thought into, especially with such a short time frame to make the game. Congrats!

Jod says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:07am

Gorgeous graphics. Loved the little in-between texts and the details on the desk.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:58am

Great game! At first I didn't understand what I had to do, but I got it quickly, and then the game becomes so stressful! I lost on day 6, and it totally was my fault for not being able to press the correct buttons when needed. I think there are some combinations that you can't do, but you don't have to correctly feed ALL the clones, so it's not that bad.

Good job, keep it up!

randomhuman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Oh god the stress o.O Very slick game, well done :)

thesquigglez says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:13pm

very fun. only complaint is no way to exit game... had to close with task manager

fafastudio says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:26pm

This game is actually pretty cool.
However, it was so much difficult at the end and in my opinion, it lacked of more musics

Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Very good. It needs to be a bit more obvious in the beginning what colors you need to feed them (easy to think it's the color of the tube or the color of the person early on).

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Thanks for all the feedback guys! Sounds like we needed to make it a bit clearer how the color matching works, and Escape to quit the game would have been a good thing, duh :) All good stuff, cheers.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:24am

Excelent entry, I didn't realize I had to see the cloning nutrients on the tubes at first and an exit button would be good. The UI, graphics and controls were all clean and the Login was a nice touch.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:16am

Polished but somewhat simple. Had a nice time playing. Well done!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Awesome entry as usual. Loved the background music track. Game really amped up around the 4th level? At first I didn't realize you could spam a key and drop multiple colors in at one time. Made it a lot easier. Very well done game. Fun and challenging and good theme usage.

klianc09 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:09pm

I tried to like it, but it gets just so fast later on, you can't even use the first dispenser anymore, because until you see the first color on the pod, it's too late because the delay on the dispenser is too high. And because of the high delay you also have to press before the pod gets under the dispenser, but the speed changes every level so it messes with the timing... maybe I'm just bad at it.
Still, the graphics and mood are excellent, it just wasn't very fun for me. (Also I second the need of an exit button.)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]