Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rebel Dancer

by Bastionride - Jam Entry

Arcade style beat‘em up with dancing moves!

Unite kind rebels!
Dance heartless regime servants to death!

All content done during the jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#101Humor(Jam)3.69
#212Audio(Jam)3.56
#297Mood(Jam)3.49
#306Overall(Jam)3.54
#357Fun(Jam)3.35
#374Graphics(Jam)3.70
#502Innovation(Jam)3.16
#508Theme(Jam)3.68

Comments

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35am

Funny, and really cool graphics! I showed a few of my friends this game! GREAT JOB! I have not finished playing yet, but I know I love it. If I have any negative feedback, I will recomment and revote, but I doubt that will happen :)

RoynLimb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:46am

I enjoyed the hip swinging action. It was pretty humorous, but I think what would have made this even better and funnier is a disco theme soundtrack. Overall, its a fun game!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48am

This is awesome. Nice art style and solid gameplay. It's very One Finger Death Punch, although I like that you added player movement into the equation too.

NoGrapes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

This game was great! I like how it pauses when you land a hit, it just feels good. Creative and funny to boot.

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13am

Amazing game, well polished gameplay, great art. As said above, the music could be a little more ridiculous to fit the theme. Rated it high overall. Congrats!

martincohen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46am

GIMME MOAR OF THIS! (Also it showed only a part of the screen on 1024x768, had to go for 1920x1200).

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37am

So it's basically Kung Fury game, isn't it? Except with 300% more DANCE!

lawendt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:45am

Rebel rebel, ur face is a mess ♪

lawendt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:36am

Hot tramp, I love you so ♫

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Very enjoyeble, cool concept!

StrehFox says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Love the style and those sick dances moves!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:40pm

A really funny game. The audio and graphics are very polished. Good job!

pokipsy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Nice concept and mood, I just whished there would be more dance moves ^^

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Dem funky moves. I like it.

kostak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Soundtrack is amazing! Good luck!

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:42am

The art and simple story was well executed. I think the gameplay could be pushed a little for it takes a while to die. Overall very good entry. I commend you for completing a game that's within scope and

Piscythe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:34pm

This is really nicely polished for a jam game. The sound and graphics are all cohesive and appealing, and the action has a real impact. It's inherently satisfying blowing through a crowd of enemies, but I found the combat mechanics unintuitive - I couldn't tell why sometimes I would rush in and get hit, while other times I could just mash through a huge mob. Also, the off-center text bugged me, though I give you credit for having the good sense to make the cinematic skippable. I expect that I'll come back and visit this one again sometime.

beetracks says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Nice game. I only think the music could be more "dancing". Something more rhythmic. Other than that, good job!

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:41am

Great game! Really satisfying to smack down the enemies. I love the sprite animations and the music.

However, it kind of seems like the best strategy is to just button-mash... it's still very satisfying to dance enemies to death, but it'd be cool to see more mechanics introduced.

Dege says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:36pm

I think a funky or disco music would work better. But, I liked the graphics and the idea.

Kepab says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:26pm

First try was a bit wonky - I had to match the Unity configuration/game resolution with my Windows screen resolution to get the game working.

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Poor decapitated dogs... Tap-and-kill dancing - quite unique! But I did not find much challenge in the gameplay alas.

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Only 64bit windows? Too bad.

Mar 28, 2016 @ 3:07am

Funny game, lovely graphics. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/MR4ln4T3mFk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]